![]() |
|
|
|||
It Was Easier Giving Up Problem Gambling ...
Please stop tempting me. Five weeks. Not a single image.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
In time, you won't even see the images. ![]()
__________________
Never hit a piñata if you see hornets flying out of it. |
|
|||
I had this discussion in pregame over the weekend and this play was brought up
defender B3 is guarding A3 in the lane - as A1 drives to the basket A3 rolls down the lane line toward the low block B3 remains stationary and maintains his position in the lane sideways (hips and shoulders) toward A1, but having been sationary for several seconds prior to contact initiated by A1 as he drives toward basket? B3 by rule never establishes "legal guarding position" as he never faced up to the offensive player, however B3 has had a stationary position for several seconds prior to any contatct and does nothing to inititate the contact, are you going to call this a block because of no LGP? ![]()
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. |
|
|||
For the moment I am going to keep my opinion of this play to myself, I am asking the question to see where it goes.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() LGP (or lack thereof) has never been the sole requirement for being able to draw a player-control foul. It is only applicable in certain situations, mainly when the offensive and defensive players are moving. So a defender could certainly not have LGP, and still draw a player-control foul. So, in your play immediately above, some of us (myself included), say A1 should be called for the player-control foul. Others have said there is no way A1 could be called for a player-control, because they did not have legal position (on the court). However, that is not the reason the case play states as why B1 is charged with a blocking foul - the reason stated is lack of LGP. So, change the conditions of the case play slightly, and B1 could certainly draw the charge.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Block or charge | Rita C | Basketball | 16 | Thu Feb 16, 2006 10:21pm |
block/charge | oc | Basketball | 52 | Fri May 28, 2004 06:14pm |
Block/Charge | jcash | Basketball | 55 | Wed Mar 24, 2004 05:54pm |
Block/charge | 164troyave | Basketball | 41 | Fri Apr 04, 2003 06:55pm |
block/charge | wolfe44 | Basketball | 11 | Thu Dec 12, 2002 09:29am |