The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #196 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 12:06pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
This thread was a revelation to me. Since this adjustment to the rule came out, I was one of those who had been saying if the defender had one foot touching the line, the dribbler could step on his face and the call would still be a block, regardless of how long the defender had been there. The argument that the inbounds thing is a LGP thing is a good one. I was relieved that this had been brought to my attention, and annoyed that it had not occurred to me before. Moreover, I am glad that, to date, I have never made a block call based on the fact that the defender touched the line.

BUT, the thing that I find disturbing is this. In 4.23.3 B apparently the defender does everything right except the fact that he touches the sideline. They make a point of stressing this, I think, when they tell us that it's okay to extend out over the out of bounds area. So the message here that I get is that it's not to much to ask for the defender not to touch the out of bounds area. This is reasonable to me, if plainly stated.

The part that is not absolutely plain to me, is whether this requirement was intended to apply to a stationary defender. If it is not too much to ask for the moving defender to avoid touching the line, it also is not to much to ask for the stationary defender to follow the same guidelines. I would like to see the following case play:

A1 is guarded by B1 in the backcourt. As A1 nears the sideline, B2 leaves his man and they attempt to trap A1 at the division line. B2 sets up at the sideline when A1 is 10 feet away. A1 notices that B2's foot is touching the sideline so he runs straight into B2.

Ruling: PC on A1. LGP does not apply in this situation.

or

Ruling: Blocking foul on B2. B2 is not in a legal defensive position since he is
touching the out of bounds area.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #197 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Good call, jar. Some type of explicit ruling would be welcome.
Reply With Quote
  #198 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Cool. So how can a defender, who does not have the ball, commit a violation?
I didn't say he was committing a violation? I said that, BY RULE, he is not legally entitled to the spot that he is standing in. I have never said that I would call the violation against the defender. I've said that I can see that call BEFORE I can see a Player Control Foul.
Reply With Quote
  #199 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 01:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Simple - by the rule stating he's not.

Which rule is that?
Which rule is it that says he's not?
Reply With Quote
  #200 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texref View Post
I have never said that I would call the violation against the defender. I've said that I can see that call BEFORE I can see a Player Control Foul.
So, you're saying you can see calling the violation against the defender, BEFORE calling a player control foul?

Again, what rule do you use that dictates calling a violation against the defender?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #201 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 01:14pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
So, you're saying you can see calling the violation against the defender, BEFORE calling a player control foul?

Again, what rule do you use that dictates calling a violation against the defender?
The same rule that he uses to dictate calling the blocking foul.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #202 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 01:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texref View Post
Which rule is it that says he's not?
I knew I would lose you. You're asking my question.

My statement:
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
I have yet to see any rules backing for the claim that a player with OOB status is always responsible for contact.
Your response:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texref View Post
How is he not????
My question:
Which rule do you use to back up your statement/question that a player with OOB status is always responsible for contact?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #203 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 01:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
The same rule that he uses to dictate calling the blocking foul.
But, that rule says it's a blocking foul because there is no LGP established or maintained. So, right before contact, all we have is a defender that does not have LGP in front of an offensive player with the ball.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #204 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 01:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Oy, talk about night and day.
Don't worry - they were at different ends of the buffet table.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #205 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 01:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
I knew I would lose you. You're asking my question.

My statement:


Your response:


My question:
Which rule do you use to back up your statement/question that a player with OOB status is always responsible for contact?
You're right I typed to fast. The rule I'm using is the one that says that the player does NOT have a legal spot, nor is he entitled to the spot that he is in as long as his foot is OOB. What rule are you using to say that he can LEGALLY be OOB (again the definition of Player Location is that if the player is touching OOB, the player is OOB) and draw a foul?
Reply With Quote
  #206 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 01:56pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texref View Post
You're right I typed to fast. The rule I'm using is the one that says that the player does NOT have a legal spot, nor is he entitled to the spot that he is in as long as his foot is OOB.
I've never seen this rule; which rule is that?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #207 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 01:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texref View Post
You're right I typed to fast. The rule I'm using is the one that says that the player does NOT have a legal spot, nor is he entitled to the spot that he is in as long as his foot is OOB. What rule are you using to say that he can LEGALLY be OOB (again the definition of Player Location is that if the player is touching OOB, the player is OOB) and draw a foul?
I'm not familiar w/ this one...can you cite it for me?
Reply With Quote
  #208 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 01:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
But, that rule says it's a blocking foul because there is no LGP established or maintained. So, right before contact, all we have is a defender that does not have LGP in front of an offensive player with the ball.
I'm not arguing LGP. In fact nowhere in any of my responses has LGP even been brought up. YOu are now confusing me with rwest. In order to call a violation on the defense, WHICH I WOULD NOT DO, you use the rule that it is a violation to leave the court for an unauthorized reason. I'm using the argument that you are using. You said that the player is entitled to a spot anywhere on the playing court. Correct? On that we both agree! I'm saying that this player, IN THE OP, is not entitled to the spot b/c he is not "ON THE PLAYING SURFACE" by definition of player location.
Reply With Quote
  #209 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 01:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
bartender more Tequilla for my friends!!

at least then I have a good reason for this head ache.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #210 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 02:00pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texref View Post
I'm not arguing LGP. In fact nowhere in any of my responses has LGP even been brought up. YOu are now confusing me with rwest. In order to call a violation on the defense, WHICH I WOULD NOT DO, you use the rule that it is a violation to leave the court for an unauthorized reason. I'm using the argument that you are using. You said that the player is entitled to a spot anywhere on the playing court. Correct? On that we both agree! I'm saying that this player, IN THE OP, is not entitled to the spot b/c he is not "ON THE PLAYING SURFACE" by definition of player location.
Then this should be a violation if it wasn't an authorized reason. If stepping on the line equals leaving the court, then the player needs a valid reason to do so. In this case, there is no difference between a player stepping on the line and stepping four feet out of bounds if he does it to cross the lane and get open.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Block or charge Rita C Basketball 16 Thu Feb 16, 2006 10:21pm
block/charge oc Basketball 52 Fri May 28, 2004 06:14pm
Block/Charge jcash Basketball 55 Wed Mar 24, 2004 05:54pm
Block/charge 164troyave Basketball 41 Fri Apr 04, 2003 06:55pm
block/charge wolfe44 Basketball 11 Thu Dec 12, 2002 09:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1