![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
Please, look at the case play again, and quote for me the reason B1 is called for a blocking foul in both the case play.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
Now will either you or jdw please provide a rule reference to call the player control foul like I have provided? Thanks. ![]() ****EDITED TO ADD THE FOLLOWING THIS IS NOT WHAT I BELIEVE BUT...****In fact, if you read it this way (I DON'T), BY rule in order for the player to be entitled to a spot, then he has to be considered guarding somebody since that is where it falls in the rule book! If a player is guarding someone, then they have to have LGP. LGP can't be established or maintained if the player is OOB. That could be an argument for rwest's point of view on this as well.****EDITED TO ADD THE PREVIOUSTHAT IS NOT WHAT I BELIEVE BUT...**** Last edited by Texref; Fri Oct 31, 2008 at 02:19pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
How's that? |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Definition of charge says that the player had to legally be in front of the defender. See previous posts, with rules included, as to why the defender in the OP is not legally w/in the path of the offense.
|
|
|||
Quote:
Sure - 4-19-6
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
The question arose as to whether a stationary defender, can still draw the charge, even if they have a foot on the line (OOB status). Not including this particular play, I believe we can all agree that, in certain situations, a player can be called for a player-control foul against a defender that does not have LGP, correct?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
Quote:
A1 driving to the basket B1 is running parralell to A1 haveing never establish LGP, A1 changes direction toward B1 and lowers shoulder to initiate contact and go through B1 to get to the basket. PC foul and we go the other way.
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new. |
|
|||
Quote:
Perhaps a better example would A1 driving to the basket, B2 is guarding A2 on the post, and B2's back is to A1. As A1 drives past B2, A1 gives a little forearm to B2's back to creat a little more space. (Snaqs has more examples.) Anyway, we agree the offense can commit a player-control foul against a defender who does not have LGP. This leads us back to the question of the stationary defender with the foot on the line. My whole point is the case play tells us the defender does not have LGP, due to the foot being on the line. It does not say the defender has "illegal position", and it does not say the defender is responsible for all contact because they are OOB. There have been no specific rules citations to back up any of those comments. So, all other things being equal, my point (and a couple others here), say there can be a situation where A1 can be called for the player-control foul, even though B1's foot is on the line OOB. Do you follow the logic?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Block or charge | Rita C | Basketball | 16 | Thu Feb 16, 2006 10:21pm |
block/charge | oc | Basketball | 52 | Fri May 28, 2004 06:14pm |
Block/Charge | jcash | Basketball | 55 | Wed Mar 24, 2004 05:54pm |
Block/charge | 164troyave | Basketball | 41 | Fri Apr 04, 2003 06:55pm |
block/charge | wolfe44 | Basketball | 11 | Thu Dec 12, 2002 09:29am |