The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #226 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 02:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
But we do agree that because A1 is out of bounds he DOES NOT have legal guarding position right?
I was being silly
the response was to the play where A1 was OOB and inbounding the ball reached through the plane and contacted by B1. Sorry long thread
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #227 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 02:56pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
yep
A1 driving to the basket B1 is running parralell to A1 haveing never establish LGP, A1 changes direction toward B1 and lowers shoulder to initiate contact and go through B1 to get to the basket.

PC foul and we go the other way.
There are lots of options. B1 standing still, looking at his coach for a signal, and A1 runs by him, brushing him hard enough to knock him down.

Or a rebound, B1 facing the basket, ball goes to A1 behind him. A1 grabs it and charges through B1 before B1 has a chance to turn around.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #228 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
yep
A1 driving to the basket B1 is running parralell to A1 haveing never establish LGP, A1 changes direction toward B1 and lowers shoulder to initiate contact and go through B1 to get to the basket.

PC foul and we go the other way.
Hmm, actually B1 could have LGP in this particular case.

Perhaps a better example would A1 driving to the basket, B2 is guarding A2 on the post, and B2's back is to A1. As A1 drives past B2, A1 gives a little forearm to B2's back to creat a little more space. (Snaqs has more examples.)

Anyway, we agree the offense can commit a player-control foul against a defender who does not have LGP.

This leads us back to the question of the stationary defender with the foot on the line. My whole point is the case play tells us the defender does not have LGP, due to the foot being on the line. It does not say the defender has "illegal position", and it does not say the defender is responsible for all contact because they are OOB. There have been no specific rules citations to back up any of those comments. So, all other things being equal, my point (and a couple others here), say there can be a situation where A1 can be called for the player-control foul, even though B1's foot is on the line OOB.

Do you follow the logic?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #229 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 03:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
New example to illustrate the point

Here is a new twist to demonstrate the point...

For those that insist the foul is on the player who is OOB just because they are OOB, what is your call if they are both OOB?

Example: A1 loses the ball, an interrupted dribble, just before stepping on the line running into a stationary and OOB B1.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Fri Oct 31, 2008 at 03:31pm.
Reply With Quote
  #230 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 03:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Here is a new twist to demonstrate the point...

For those that insist the foul is on the player who is OOB just because they are OOB, what is your call if they are both OOB?

Example: A1 loses the ball, an interrupted dribble, just before stepping on the line running into a stationary and OOB B1.
Double violation, and POI?

Sorry, my head hurts...I need a weekend, I think.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #231 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 03:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
So, all other things being equal, my point (and a couple others here), say there can be a situation where A1 can be called for the player-control foul, even though B1's foot is on the line OOB.

Do you follow the logic?
I do not disagree that there could be such a situation,
such as just bowling B1 over becuase he was there, pushing off with the arm, and several others that have probably been mentioned in this thread.

it is possible that you could call a PC foul here,
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #232 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 03:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ohio, cincinnati
Posts: 813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Here is a new twist to demonstrate the point...

For those that insist the foul is on the player who is OOB just because they are OOB, what is your call if they are both OOB?

Example: A1 loses the ball, an interrupted dribble, just before stepping on the line running into a stationary and OOB B1.
No player control during an interuppted dribble,
but yes you could have a foul on A1
__________________
New and improved: if it's new it's not improved; if it's improved it's not new.
Reply With Quote
  #233 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 03:48pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
OH, I think by your logic, you can choose between flagrant offensive, intentional offensive, or a block. I honestly don't see how you could ever go with PC if you consider the player to be illegal by virtue of his toe on the line.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #234 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 03:49pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
No player control during an interuppted dribble,
but yes you could have a foul on A1
Shouldn't you go with a double?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #235 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 03:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF View Post
I do not disagree that there could be such a situation,
such as just bowling B1 over becuase he was there, pushing off with the arm, and several others that have probably been mentioned in this thread.

it is possible that you could call a PC foul here,
Whew...I'm think I'm starting to make a little headway.

Now you see my point. There are others that have said you can never have a PC, only because the defender had their foot on the line. Iow, they have an "illegal position" and the only calls could be a block or no-call.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #236 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 05:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy View Post
Whew...I'm think I'm starting to make a little headway.

Now you see my point. There are others that have said you can never have a PC, only because the defender had their foot on the line. Iow, they have an "illegal position" and the only calls could be a block or no-call.
If the defender is not "gaurding" the player with the ball. If they are "guarding," remember the definition from earlier, then they must have LGP and, also from earlier, you can't ESTABLISH OR MAINTAIN legal gaurding position OOB.
Reply With Quote
  #237 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 05:58pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texref View Post
If the defender is not "gaurding" the player with the ball. If they are "guarding," remember the definition from earlier, then they must have LGP
Where's your cite for this?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #238 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 06:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Where's your cite for this?
From the definition of guarding that I posted earlier. Do you not remember, or are you forgetting b/c it makes my point?

Rule 4 Sec. 35 Art 1 Defines Guarding - Guarding shall be the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent. The guarding position shall be initially established and then maintained on the playing court.

If you don't consider the defense to be guarding, then LGP doesn't apply. If you consider them to be "guarding" then they must establish and maintain LGP. That is why the rules that tell you that fall under the guarding definition.
Reply With Quote
  #239 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 06:11pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texref View Post
From the definition of guarding that I posted earlier. Do you not remember, or are you forgetting b/c it makes my point?

Rule 4 Sec. 35 Art 1 Defines Guarding - Guarding shall be the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent. The guarding position shall be initially established and then maintained on the playing court.

If you don't consider the defense to be guarding, then LGP doesn't apply. If you consider them to be "guarding" then they must establish and maintain LGP. That is why the rules that tell you that fall under the guarding definition.
I'll have to find this tonight in the book, but I thought you were quoting NCAA rules.

Is it your contention that if A1 gets the ball, B1 is between him and the basket with one foot in the air, A1 can run by him and knock him over if he does it before B1 gets his foot down to establish LGP even though B1 is stationary?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Fri Oct 31, 2008 at 06:14pm.
Reply With Quote
  #240 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 31, 2008, 06:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
I'll have to find this tonight in the book, but I thought you were quoting NCAA rules.
That is the NCAA rule. I believe that the HS rule is the same though. See next post!

Last edited by Texref; Fri Oct 31, 2008 at 06:31pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Block or charge Rita C Basketball 16 Thu Feb 16, 2006 10:21pm
block/charge oc Basketball 52 Fri May 28, 2004 06:14pm
Block/Charge jcash Basketball 55 Wed Mar 24, 2004 05:54pm
Block/charge 164troyave Basketball 41 Fri Apr 04, 2003 06:55pm
block/charge wolfe44 Basketball 11 Thu Dec 12, 2002 09:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1