The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #106 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 10:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
You have to be kidding

Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser View Post
Another related play:

B1 rolls his ankle in A's frontcourt well ahead of A2 dribbling the ball up the floor. B1 falls to the ground, injured, onto the sideline, and the officials rule that they will allow A to finish their play toward the basket. A2 continues dribbling, while being defensively pressured by B2 towards B1's body. A2's foot contacts B1 and he trips and falls to the floor holding the ball. What is the ruling?

I say travelling (and I surmise M&M, jdw and that camp agree).

(Note - NFHS response only)
A kid is laying on the floor. This is not LGP. It's a block. What do you have when A1 goes up for a layup and comes down and is tripped by B1 lying on the floor? It's called a block. You can't play defense lying on the floor! You're entitled to a spot, but not lying on the floor!
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #107 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 10:37pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
A kid is laying on the floor. This is not LGP. It's a block. What do you have when A1 goes up for a layup and comes down and is tripped by B1 lying on the floor? It's called a block. You can't play defense lying on the floor! You're entitled to a spot, but not lying on the floor!
Sez who?


B1 is lying on the floor injured, well in advance of the play. If the dribbler, or any other offensive player trips over him, no way is this a block.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #108 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 10:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
Why not?

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
Sez who?


B1 is lying on the floor injured, well in advance of the play. If the dribbler, or any other offensive player trips over him, no way is this a block.
Was he in LGP? No. Did he have a right to be on the floor? No. Are you going to call traveling? I hope not. If anything kill the play to see to the injured player, but in no way does the offense lose the ball. You can't be on the floor rolling in pain and cause the offense to lose the ball.

The only way I won't call this is if the offense had an opportunity to go around the kid. If as you say it is well in advance of the play then the offense has a chance to go around the player. I would agree with you then that the proper call would be traveling if he lost the ball. I'm not going to bail out the offense. However, if its bang-bang, then you have to call a block because the player does not have LGP nor does he have the right to be on the floor like that. He can't occupy as much space as he wants.
What do you call when B1 is laying on the floor and during rebounding action A1 trips over B1? Its called a block. B1 is not in LGP and doesn't have a right to cause A1 to lose his balance by being on the floor.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #109 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 10:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
4-23-3-a does not require movement. They are in violation of LGP because their foot is on the line. A stationary player is judged using LGP in this case based on the fact that the case play says that the player was called for a block. Why? Because they did not have LGP. Why did they not LGP? Because they were on the line not because they were moving.
Almost. You're missing the most fundamental point....not all fouls depend on LGP.

Rule 4-23-3 is all about LGP...nothing more. It does not define fouls or who is responsible for contact beyond the indirect effect of LGP influencing fouls that depend on LGP.

The matching casebook play is written in the explicit context of LGP. It is simply demonstrating that a player who is attemping to maintain LGP (to stay in the path of the dribbler) through otherwise legal defensive actions loses that LGP when they step OOB and that any foul that would have depended on having LGP is now a block. An important part of the play is that the defender was moving to stay in the path of the dribbler....necessitating LGP to be legal.

Take the same play to the center of the court and change one thing to cause the defender to lose LGP...the player was moving toward the dribbler at the time of contact. It is a block. Why? Becuase the defender didn't have LGP. That's all.

Now, put that same defender stationary in the middle of the court but facing away from the dribbler when the dribbler crashes into the defender's back. Does the defender have LGP? No...was never facing the opponent. However, what is the foul? Charge/PC. Why? Because the call doesn't depend on LGP.

While many officials read that play to mean all OOB fouls are blocks, it is not true. It is taken completely out of context to come to that conclusion. The ONLY thing it says is that a player who is OOB can not have LGP and that leads the conclusion that any foul that depends on LGP becomes a block. All other fouls are unaffected.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Oct 30, 2008 at 11:07pm.
Reply With Quote
  #110 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 10:56pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
What do you call when B1 is laying on the floor and during rebounding action A1 trips over B1? Its called a block. B1 is not in LGP and doesn't have a right to cause A1 to lose his balance by being on the floor.
If he's been lying here the whole game I have nothing. This has been discussed here before. I am not aware of a rule which makes sitting/lying down on the floor, in and of itself illegal.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #111 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 11:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
Was he in LGP? No.
Correct.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
Did he have a right to be on the floor? No.
Incorrect. Pretty basic and you'll be the only one arguing that point. All players are entitled to their spot on the floor, even if it is horizontal.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
Are you going to call traveling?
Nope...nothing at all....unless he actually travels.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
I hope not. If anything kill the play to see to the injured player, but in no way does the offense lose the ball. You can't be on the floor rolling in pain and cause the offense to lose the ball.
By what rule?
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
However, if its bang-bang, then you have to call a block because the player does not have LGP nor does he have the right to be on the floor like that.
Incorrect again. LGP is not relevant.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
He can't occupy as much space as he wants.
Actually, he can in this case.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
What do you call when B1 is laying on the floor and during rebounding action A1 trips over B1? Its called a block.
It's called tough luck for A1.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
B1 is not in LGP and doesn't have a right to cause A1 to lose his balance by being on the floor.
A1 doesn't have any right to land on B1....it's a no call....nothing...ever....not even a judgement call. By rule, there is no call to be considered.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Oct 30, 2008 at 11:06pm.
Reply With Quote
  #112 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 11:04pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,329
Illegal, Or Legal, Contact ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
If he's been lying here the whole game I have nothing.
Now what if he was lying there for the whole game while it was being played on an aircraft carrier crossing the Internatinal Dateline from west to east?

Seriously. Can a player be on the floor after a fall, remain motionless for a split second, be involved in a contact situation with a dribbler, shooter, or a player trying to move without the ball, and be called for any type of illegal contact?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #113 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 11:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by sseltser View Post
Another related play:

B1 rolls his ankle in A's frontcourt well ahead of A2 dribbling the ball up the floor. B1 falls to the ground, injured, onto the sideline, and the officials rule that they will allow A to finish their play toward the basket. A2 continues dribbling, while being defensively pressured by B2 towards B1's body. A2's foot contacts B1 and he trips and falls to the floor holding the ball. What is the ruling?

I say travelling (and I surmise M&M, jdw and that camp agree).

(Note - NFHS response only)
Yep...traveling
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Thu Oct 30, 2008 at 11:08pm.
Reply With Quote
  #114 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 11:16pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
A kid is laying on the floor. This is not LGP. It's a block. What do you have when A1 goes up for a layup and comes down and is tripped by B1 lying on the floor? It's called a block. You can't play defense lying on the floor! You're entitled to a spot, but not lying on the floor!
Find me a rule or case play to support this.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.

Last edited by Adam; Thu Oct 30, 2008 at 11:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #115 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 11:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Suwanee Georgia
Posts: 1,050
No way!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust View Post
Correct.

Incorrect. Pretty basic and you'll be the only one arguing that point. All players are entitled to their spot on the floor, even if it is horizontal.

Nope...nothing at all....unless he actually travels.

By what rule?

Incorrect again. LGP is not relevant.

Actually, he can in this case.

It's called tough luck for A1.

A1 doesn't have any right to land on B1....it's a no call....nothing...ever....not even a judgement call. By rule, there is no call to be considered.
They are not entitled to a spot on the floor laying horizontal. No way!
So then I can set a screen as wide as I want to since there is no restriction on how much space I take up? It's not tough luck for A1. Its a foul on B1. A1 has a right to a landing. B1 can't take that away from them.
__________________
Gwinnett Umpires Association
Multicounty Softball Association
Multicounty Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #116 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 11:19pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,329
Citation Please ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells View Post
Find me a rule or case play to support this.
... or to defend it. I'd like to see either.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #117 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 11:23pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Look, this case play is all about LGP. For crying out loud, the rule that corresponds to the case play is all about LGP. 4-23 is about guarding in general. 4-23-3 is all about LGP.

Stationary players do not need LGP, so any play that does not require LGP is not covered by case 4-23-3B. Otherwise, the logic of this play would require a blocking foul anytime an offensive player tripped over a defender who never established LGP.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #118 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 11:24pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest View Post
They are not entitled to a spot on the floor laying horizontal. No way!
So then I can set a screen as wide as I want to since there is no restriction on how much space I take up? It's not tough luck for A1. Its a foul on B1. A1 has a right to a landing. B1 can't take that away from them.
As long as B1 was in place prior to A1 taking off, A1 does not have the right to jump on top of B1.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #119 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 11:32pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
A question:
When LGP does not apply, aren't screening principals used?
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #120 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 30, 2008, 11:45pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
By the way:
Note this thread.

Or this one.

Note they reference a NFHS case play that is no longer there, but has never been actively reversed.

Defenders are not required to have LGP when occupying a spot on the floor, as long as they are stationary.

Also note, the NCAA ruling is different for the player lying on the floor.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Block or charge Rita C Basketball 16 Thu Feb 16, 2006 10:21pm
block/charge oc Basketball 52 Fri May 28, 2004 06:14pm
Block/Charge jcash Basketball 55 Wed Mar 24, 2004 05:54pm
Block/charge 164troyave Basketball 41 Fri Apr 04, 2003 06:55pm
block/charge wolfe44 Basketball 11 Thu Dec 12, 2002 09:29am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1