![]() |
|
|
|||
Fed Rules: 6-4-3g
It's AP if a double personal foul occurs and the POI is such that neither team is in control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved. (It's a throw-in, so there is no team control) The other person is right. Go to the arrow. |
|
|||
Quote:
Last edited by tjones1; Mon Oct 20, 2008 at 10:28pm. |
|
|||
That rule just talks about POI. You still inbound the ball at the POI, but the AP determines who gets to throw it in at the POI.
|
|
|||
Yes, but 4-36-1 says:
Method of resuming play due to ... a double personal foul... . Play shall be resumed by one of the following methods: a. ... b. A free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such. c. AP (which is basically 6-4-3g again) To me, the throw-in was still occurring when the infraction took place. The throw-in was never touched by Team A or Team B. Why can't you go back to it? Just having a hard time buying you go AP. To me, you punish the throw-in team. If Team A has the arrow and just scores a bucket. Team B on their throw-in releases the ball without anyone touching it, B4 and A4 get banged with a double foul, you're giving the ball to Team A via the AP. Seems like they gain a huge advantage. |
|
|||
Buzzzz. Thanks for playing.
The ball goes back to A for a throw-in. The AP arrow does not figure into this at all. NFHS 4-36-2-b "A free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such." The interruption occurred during the throw-in. The POI is the throw-in.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming Last edited by Back In The Saddle; Mon Oct 20, 2008 at 11:00pm. Reason: To add, you've got your ruling Mr. Jones. Don't let anybody confuse you with the arrow in this sitch. |
|
|||
So I'm bemused by the constant confusion over when to go to the AP. The AP is the last resort for POI. Yet so often I hear people wanting to make it the first choice.
![]()
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Quote:
I think the problem is when dealing with doubles the first question that is asked is whether or not there was team control. If there isn't, they automatically want to resort to the AP. Then again, maybe not. But that's the only thing I can come up with. |
|
|||
So when does 6-4-3g apply? It says that when double personal, double technical, or simultaneous fouls occur, and AP throw-in is used when there is no team control and no goal, infraction, nor end of quarter/extra period is involved. I'm just asking for clarification.
Also, in what situation would you use the AP for a double foul if this situation doesn't meet that criteria? |
|
|||
Quote:
As Billy posted above, I think that the POI rule is actually very easy to administer once you know the definition. You just have to remember that there are 3 parts to the definition. |
|
|||
Quote:
Now, zm1283. I totally agree with you had the throw-in ended. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Double Foul During Free Throw | cropduster | Basketball | 63 | Wed Sep 26, 2007 12:00am |
Double Violation on free throw | Largent | Basketball | 11 | Fri Jan 06, 2006 04:08pm |
Double foul on throw-in clarification | blindzebra | Basketball | 2 | Thu Dec 08, 2005 01:15pm |
Double base / errant throw redux | Dakota | Softball | 3 | Tue Aug 06, 2002 09:40pm |
Free Throw/Double Violation? | OK Ref | Basketball | 5 | Mon Jan 28, 2002 06:33am |