The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2008, 11:05am
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Do you really believe that?

So when it should be 1 and 1, but the official says, "2 shots" and then the shooter misses the first, what are you going to do if A2, B2, A4, and B5 all attempt to rebound and A4 gets the ball and scores?

Are you going to follow the casebook play and allow play to continue as normal or are you going to rule that the goal doesn't count because the ball was dead due to the official wrongly saying, "2 shots?"
I will do my best to follow the casebook play:
If all players on both teams go for the rebound, giving each team "equal opportunity to gain possession of the rebound," then play should continue.
However, if even one player on one side or the other even hesitates before going for the rebound, then "the official's error clearly put one team at a disadvantage," and the play should be whistled dead as quickly as possible.
But even if somebody scores before the whistle, it doesn't count because the ball was already dead because:

"The ball becomes dead when it is apparent the free throw will not be successful on a free throw which is to be followed by another free throw."
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2008, 03:20pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,954
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
It seems that no official blew the ball dead prior to the scoring of the goal as instructed in the case book play. Without that happening, I don't see how the basket can be cancelled.
From the NCAA:

Ball in Play When Free Throw is Missed
A.R. 184. The official informs the players along the free throw lane that two free throws shall be awarded when a one-and-one bonus is in effect.
(1) While all other players remain inactive, A2 rebounds the ball and successfully scores a goal. The official discovers that he or she misinformed the players; or
(2) B2 rebounds the ball and passes it to the official, who is positioned out of bounds. The official discovers that he or she misinformed the players.

RULING: The official’s misinformation to the players caused the inactivity. As a result, in both (1) and (2), the ball shall be put in play with the use of the alternating-possession arrow. In (1), A2’s goal shall not count. A1 did attempt his or her merited free throw, so there is no error to correct. When any time has elapsed off the game clock and the official has knowledge of this time, he or she shall rectify the situation.(Rule 8-5, 4-53.2.d and 5-11.1)
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2008, 04:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
BadNews,
Thanks for furnishing the NCAA ruling. I happen to agree with it.

Now if we could get the NFHS to adopt the same, then we could justify cancelling the goal without a whistle.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2008, 11:18pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
It seems that no official blew the ball dead prior to the scoring of the goal as instructed in the case book play. Without that happening, I don't see how the basket can be cancelled.
I submit that the official killing the play is a mental event, like the granting of the timeout requested by the airborne player, and takes place instantly upon realization of the circumstances, not when the air is put into the whistle.
How about that?
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2008, 11:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Lincoln Co, Missouri
Posts: 823
All I know is that you're already in a world of hurt by informing the players wrong information in a FT situation and one team is going to have to burn an arrow but now you're going to allow one team to take advantage of that mistake and score an uncontested two points and let it stand?
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 10, 2008, 11:39pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyezen View Post
All I know is that you're already in a world of hurt by informing the players wrong information in a FT situation and one team is going to have to burn an arrow but now you're going to allow one team to take advantage of that mistake and score an uncontested two points and let it stand?
Not sure where a "world of hurt" starts and ends, but let's put it this way. You give wrong information and cause a team to burn an arrow, nobody will remember it tomorrow. If your mistake results in an uncontested basket, it is likely to be remembered for a loooong time.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 11, 2008, 01:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by just another ref View Post
I submit that the official killing the play is a mental event, like the granting of the timeout requested by the airborne player, and takes place instantly upon realization of the circumstances, not when the air is put into the whistle.
How about that?
Nice try, but that's the way it works in soccer, not basketball.

The NFHS basketball rules very clearly spell out how the ball becomes dead in 6-7. One of those items is "...An official's whistle is blown."

It doesn't say that the official decides to sound the whistle.

Sorry, try again.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 11, 2008, 11:20am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
I agree with Nevada, by rule, it's a tough sell to cancel the basket.
In practice, it would be a tougher sell (to my assigners) to let it stand.
In practice, I'm blowing my whistle when the ball is in the air off the rim; or, at the latest, as soon as a player has the ball and is making a move.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 12, 2008, 01:52pm
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
So, as I understand it, it is conceivable that we may one day read in a Nevada newspaper:

"The winning basket was allowed to score when the official sneezed, causing him to be a split second late whistling the play dead."
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official mistake on free throw oldschool Basketball 4 Sat Jan 05, 2008 06:09am
AP Mistake jdw3018 Basketball 3 Sun Dec 17, 2006 10:20am
Official scorer mistake just another ref Baseball 18 Wed May 26, 2004 10:55am
Another ASA mistake? greymule Softball 6 Fri Oct 03, 2003 12:07pm
High School Official vs NCAA /College Official CLAY Basketball 22 Sat Feb 22, 2003 11:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1