The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #34 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 03, 2002, 11:19pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Post

Quote:
Originally posted by Kelvin green
Mick

Go back and reread NFHS situation 1. It is telling you where to take the ball OOB, it has nothing to do with the designated spot. It says that based on where the foul happened that you take it to the endline in cases b & d, in a & c you take it to the sideline.

Kelvin,
Yeah, I read it many times and I see that implication.
But, not once have I questioned the "designated spot" and it's prohibitions.
I question the variances between Designated spot and the running throw-in. All the differences are noted, but not the presumed variable for the foot over the spot.

I do not see where an end line thrower may go back to the wall, but a designated spot thrower does, by rule, have no depth limitation. Since it is specific to one, is it automatically specific to the other?
If the depth limitation applies to both, then why does the foot over the throw-in boundary not apply to both?
mick



Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1