View Single Post
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 03, 2002, 12:22pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Quote:
Bob, Either i am misunderstanding you or you have not read the definition of Designated spot. Help me out here.
4-41-6 "The designated spot is 3 feet wide with no depth limitation"

You can read "depth" as meaning "from the sideline back to the wall". I choose not to put any "sideline" restriction on it.

If you put a restriction on it, then 9-2-1 would not allow you to leap over the court. But, 9-2-11 NOTE allows the offense to penetrate the plane -- again, not restricted to "arms or one foot", so you'd have a conflict between 9-2-1 and 9-2-11.

If you don't put the restriction on 4-41-6, then the rules aren't in conflict. 9-2-1 deals with "horizontal" movement, 9-2-5 deals with landing on the court before releasing the ball, and 9-2-11 NOTE says it's okay to leap over the court.

The NCAA rules are substantially the same.
Reply With Quote