The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 19, 2002, 07:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Re: Re: Found this in the NCAA rulebook

Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Rule 4-65. Art. 4.
A.R. 40. A1 intercepts a pass and dribbles toward A’s basket for a break-away layup.
Near A’s free-throw line, A1 legally stops and ends his or her dribble. A1 throws the
ball against A’s backboard and follows the throw. While airborne, A1 rebounds the ball
off the backboard and dunks. R U L I N G : The play shall be legal since the backboard is
equipment located in A1’s half of the playing court, which A1 is entitled to use.
NFHS Casebaook Play R4.15.4C: After dribbling and coming to a stop, A1 throws the ball (a) against the opponent's backboard and catches the rebound; or (b) against an official, immediately recovers the ball and dribbles again; or (c) against his/her own backboard, catches the rebound and dribbles again. RULING: A1 has violated in both (a) and (b). Throwing the ball against the opponent's backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is the first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. In (c), the action is legal as a player's own backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds, but does not constitute a part of a dribble. (R9-S5)

Casebook Play (c) is identical to A.R. 40.
Actually, casebook play (c) is different, since it explicitly allows the player to dribble again after throwing it off his/her own backboard. AR40 only deals with an airborne player catching and dunking, a much narrower situation.

NCAA 4-18.4 AR-13 is the same as parts (a) and (b) of the NFHS case you quoted, but has no part (c).

I was unable to find anything else in the NCAA rulebook that deals with this.

On another note, I've never been able to find anything in the NCAA rulebook that prohibits a pass to oneself. I've seen the NFHS case quoted several times on this board. Does anyone have a rule reference for NCAA?
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 19, 2002, 10:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 249
Re: Re: Re: Found this in the NCAA rulebook

Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Actually, casebook play (c) is different, since it explicitly allows the player to dribble again after throwing it off his/her own backboard. AR40 only deals with an airborne player catching and dunking, a much narrower situation.

NCAA 4-18.4 AR-13 is the same as parts (a) and (b) of the NFHS case you quoted, but has no part (c).

I was unable to find anything else in the NCAA rulebook that deals with this.

On another note, I've never been able to find anything in the NCAA rulebook that prohibits a pass to oneself. I've seen the NFHS case quoted several times on this board. Does anyone have a rule reference for NCAA? [/B]
A.R. 40. A1 intercepts a pass and dribbles toward A’s basket for a break-away layup.
Near A’s free-throw line, A1 legally stops and ends his or her dribble. A1 throws the
ball against A’s backboard and follows the throw. While airborne, A1 rebounds the ball
off the backboard and dunks. R U L I N G : The play shall be legal since the backboard is
equipment located in A1’s half of the playing court, which A1 is entitled to use.


The fact that A1 is allowed to follow the ball (while stepping) and legaly catch the "self-pass" implies that he could start a new dribble, IMO.

There is no explicit rule against a "self-pass" in the rules to my knowledge; you have to read and interpret the traveling rules in order to rule on a self pass.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 19, 2002, 11:25am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Slider, actually a self pass is addressed by 4.15.4E. Also, 4.15.4C states that the player could legally dribble again.

4.15.4C
After dribbling and coming to a stop, A1 throws the ball: (a) against the opponent's backboard and catches the rebound; or (b) against an official, immediately recovers the ball and dribbles again; or (c) against his/her own backboard, catches the rebound and dribbles again.

Ruling: A1 has violated in both (a) and (b). Throwing the ball against the opponent's backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. In (c), the action is legal as a player's own backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds, but does not constitute a part of a dribble.


4.15.4 SITUATION E: (a) A1 tosses the ball from one hand to the other while keeping his/her pivot foot in contact with the floor; or (b) A1 throws the ball over the head of B1 and then takes several steps before catching it.

Ruling: Legal in (a), but a traveling violation in (b). In (b), A1 may not move his/her pivot foot without violating. Since the ball did not touch the floor, the tossing and subsequent catch is not part of a dribble nor is it the start and end of a dribble. (9-4)
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 19, 2002, 11:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 301
Angry

I'm an idiot! I also flew off the handle and like a howler monkey thought I knew the rules. I'm not going to make another submission (after this one) unless I check the rule book and have rule references. Also, I'm done with basketball and I'm going to concentrate on my golf game! I'm glad we have such sharp guys on our forum that can correct "gomers" like me.

Note: I went from the lower level of the outhouse in the NCAA brackets to the first floor with my picks of Kent State and UCLA in the sweet 16!
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 19, 2002, 11:50am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Slider, actually a self pass is addressed by 4.15.4E. Also, 4.15.4C states that the player could legally dribble again.

4.15.4C
After dribbling and coming to a stop, A1 throws the ball: (a) against the opponent's backboard and catches the rebound; or (b) against an official, immediately recovers the ball and dribbles again; or (c) against his/her own backboard, catches the rebound and dribbles again.

Ruling: A1 has violated in both (a) and (b). Throwing the ball against the opponent's backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. In (c), the action is legal as a player's own backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds, but does not constitute a part of a dribble.


4.15.4 SITUATION E: (a) A1 tosses the ball from one hand to the other while keeping his/her pivot foot in contact with the floor; or (b) A1 throws the ball over the head of B1 and then takes several steps before catching it.

Ruling: Legal in (a), but a traveling violation in (b). In (b), A1 may not move his/her pivot foot without violating. Since the ball did not touch the floor, the tossing and subsequent catch is not part of a dribble nor is it the start and end of a dribble. (9-4)
Nice job, Tony!
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 19, 2002, 12:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Slider, actually a self pass is addressed by 4.15.4E. Also, 4.15.4C states that the player could legally dribble again.
These are the NFHS rules. Does anyone have a reference for NCAA?
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 19, 2002, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,176
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Slider, actually a self pass is addressed by 4.15.4E. Also, 4.15.4C states that the player could legally dribble again.
These are the NFHS rules. Does anyone have a reference for NCAA?
The "legal on a try" reference: 4-64-1 AR33

The "illegal otherwise" reference: 4-18-4 AR13, AR14 (plus some common sense reading of 4-18 and 4-64)
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 19, 2002, 02:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 249
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Slider, actually a self pass is addressed by 4.15.4E. Also, 4.15.4C states that the player could legally dribble again.
True, I should have said the words "self pass" are not used.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 20, 2002, 02:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: West Ishpeming, Mi. (U.P.)
Posts: 235
Talking

Hey Mick, when do I get the bill for the black socks I "borrowed" from you at FU?
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 20, 2002, 03:20pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Wink

Quote:
Originally posted by zebra44
Hey Mick, when do I get the bill for the black socks I "borrowed" from you at FU?
zebra44,
Glad I was packin'.
mick

Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 20, 2002, 08:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Oregon, OH
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally posted by John Arduini
I was doing a men's rec league game yesterday under NCAA men's rules and a player got a breakaway, ran down the court, threw the ball off the backboard, took a few steps, caught the ball and then dunked it. I called him for traveling as you can't pass to yourself. He said he was shooting and therefore not a violation. Your thoughts??
I'd like to add a twist to this play. Upon releasing the ball to hit the backboard B1 turns to block out A1 after A1 has elevated to dunk his "pass" off the board. What kind of foul do you have in A if A1 has the ball or B if A1 does not yet have the ball?
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 20, 2002, 09:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,069
Quote:
Originally posted by MOFFICIAL

I'd like to add a twist to this play. Upon releasing the ball to hit the backboard B1 turns to block out A1 after A1 has elevated to dunk his "pass" off the board. What kind of foul do you have in A if A1 has the ball or B if A1 does not yet have the ball?
[/QUOTE]

If the contact is signifant enough to warrant a foul, it should be a common foul (BLOCK).
As I interpret this situation, A1 is attempting to rebound a missed shot.
__________________
"Stay in the game!"
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 20, 2002, 10:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by MOFFICIAL

I'd like to add a twist to this play. Upon releasing the ball to hit the backboard B1 turns to block out A1 after A1 has elevated to dunk his "pass" off the board. What kind of foul do you have in A if A1 has the ball or B if A1 does not yet have the ball?
There could be any number of calls made.

Common foul on B1 if he fouls before A1 gets the ball.

Shooting foul on B1 if he fouls after A1 gets the ball.

Common foul on A1 if B1 has legal position and A1 fouls him.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2002, 05:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 5
confused

I'm new with the rules/officiating and I am confused. Can anyone summarize for me when it is legal for a player to bounce the ball to him or herself off the backboard?

Thank you for any help you can give to a new official.

__________________
New Kid on the Block
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 22, 2002, 05:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,176
Re: confused

Quote:
Originally posted by gduck
I'm new with the rules/officiating and I am confused. Can anyone summarize for me when it is legal for a player to bounce the ball to him or herself off the backboard?

Thank you for any help you can give to a new official.

Offensive backboard: Any time (possible exception: the player is in the backcourt, throws the ball off the offensive board and recovers it in the backcourt with no one else touching it.)

Defensive backboard: Treat it just like the player bounced the ball off the floor. If that was legal (e.g., the player had not already dribbled), then the throw (and recovery) off the backboard is legal.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1