View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Mar 19, 2002, 10:38am
Slider Slider is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 249
Re: Re: Re: Found this in the NCAA rulebook

Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Actually, casebook play (c) is different, since it explicitly allows the player to dribble again after throwing it off his/her own backboard. AR40 only deals with an airborne player catching and dunking, a much narrower situation.

NCAA 4-18.4 AR-13 is the same as parts (a) and (b) of the NFHS case you quoted, but has no part (c).

I was unable to find anything else in the NCAA rulebook that deals with this.

On another note, I've never been able to find anything in the NCAA rulebook that prohibits a pass to oneself. I've seen the NFHS case quoted several times on this board. Does anyone have a rule reference for NCAA? [/B]
A.R. 40. A1 intercepts a pass and dribbles toward A’s basket for a break-away layup.
Near A’s free-throw line, A1 legally stops and ends his or her dribble. A1 throws the
ball against A’s backboard and follows the throw. While airborne, A1 rebounds the ball
off the backboard and dunks. R U L I N G : The play shall be legal since the backboard is
equipment located in A1’s half of the playing court, which A1 is entitled to use.


The fact that A1 is allowed to follow the ball (while stepping) and legaly catch the "self-pass" implies that he could start a new dribble, IMO.

There is no explicit rule against a "self-pass" in the rules to my knowledge; you have to read and interpret the traveling rules in order to rule on a self pass.
Reply With Quote