Quote:
Originally posted by gduck
I'm new with the rules/officiating and I am confused. Can anyone summarize for me when it is legal for a player to bounce the ball to him or herself off the backboard?
Thank you for any help you can give to a new official.
|
Offensive backboard: Any time (possible exception: the player is in the backcourt, throws the ball off the offensive board and recovers it in the backcourt with no one else touching it.)
Defensive backboard: Treat it just like the player bounced the ball off the floor. If that was legal (e.g., the player had not already dribbled), then the throw (and recovery) off the backboard is legal.