The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 03:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 486
NFHS...Going OOB-Calling T.O.

I'm catching up on stuff I wanted to ask around here from the weekend....

A1 secures a loose ball near the endline or sideline, his momentum is about to force him OOB...in A)he jumps in the air and while going OOB requests T.O. ....B) secures loose ball while diving and his sliding momentum is going to carry him to and force him to be touching the side/endline...before he touches OOB he requests TO.

Are these this legal plays? Had a discussion with a guy the other day in a JRHS game and he said the NFHS changed a rule that now prohibits this. Is that true...Didn't matter anyway in A cause he stepped on the line....but I was prepared to grant the TO...I want to say I remember maybe NCAA doing something with this but not sure....AND I could be a couple years behind on it...So let's get me up to speed!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 03:47pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
I would say legal to grant TO in (a) & (b) as both seem to have the player with possession of the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 03:54pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,191
No rule against this in high school. Grant the TO.

NCAA is different, I think.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 03:57pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,024
NFHS didn't change the rule, it was the NCAA that changed the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 03:59pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Legal in both cases in Fed. NCAA doesn't allow it, IIRC.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 27, 2008, 06:35pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
A1 secures a loose ball near the endline or sideline, his momentum is about to force him OOB...in A)he jumps in the air and while going OOB requests T.O. ....B) secures loose ball while diving and his sliding momentum is going to carry him to and force him to be touching the side/endline...before he touches OOB he requests TO.

Are these this legal plays?
Just for the record, under NCAA rules only:
1) In A, the request is ignored and if the airborne player lands OOB with the ball, it is a violation.
2) in B, you grant the timeout. The player isn't airborne and is holding a live ball inbounds. You don't have any reason to deny the TO request.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calling all U's Jaysef Football 8 Tue Oct 04, 2005 12:36pm
How much do you take before calling a T? SeahawkSanders Basketball 18 Sat Feb 12, 2005 08:00am
Calling T's jcurtin Basketball 3 Tue Jan 11, 2005 10:30am
Calling rainmaker Basketball 6 Thu Mar 18, 2004 10:55pm
NEW - 2003 NFHS Football Rule Changes (as written by the NFHS Rules Committee) KWH Football 27 Tue Jan 21, 2003 11:30am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1