The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 09:18am
Jerry Blum

Unhappy

I am in my third year of reffing HS games and have actually gotten into playing in leagues this winter. I came across this last night in Rec game that I was playing in. There was a close block/charge call that the official called a block. I wasn't quite sure that I agreed with it so I went over to ask the official why he called the block instead of the player control foul. I was expecting to hear that he didn't get position before the player left the floor or before contact. However, here is what the official told me: 'It was a block because he fell to the side instead of straight back.' Has anyone ever heard this explaination before. Just thought this was interesting interpretation of the rules.
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 09:34am
Official Forum Member

Do you mean he fell to the side after the contact or before the contact? either way I havn't heard this before.
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 10:15am
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to RX Ref
was he watching the defense?

If he was watching the defender, the only thing i can think of that he means is that the offensive player got past the torso of the defender, and the contact then made the defender fall sideways. Dosn't seem like a very good explanation, but we all know this is a very tough call to make.
Old Tue Feb 26, 2002, 10:20am
Official Forum Member

"I wasn't quite sure that I agreed with it so I went over to ask the official why he called the block instead of the player control foul...."
--------------------------
I'm more interested in how and when you talked to this guy. I hope it wasn't on the floor. How many times will you tolerate a player questioning your judgement during a game even in a rec league? Adult games are tough to call because of all the egos and basketball experts on the floor. I hope you bought the guy a beer afterwards!