The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2008, 12:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Franklin, IN
Posts: 16
Lane Violation

Witnessed this the other day, (I was not working but was operating clock), Teams are lined up for free throw (bonus). As A-1 starts to shoot, B5 steps inside the 3-point line creating a violation, Also A-1 misses the cylinder on his attempt.

Discussion by the 3 working the game gave it alternating possesion.

But after the game we were all discussing it and came up with the violation by B would supersede the cylinder violation since it occured first. Is this correct? Looking for your input so I can learn from this situation.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2008, 01:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Franklin, IN
Posts: 16
Sorry, guys & gals I just found the previous post about double violations. Sorry for re asking this when it had already been answered.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2008, 06:26am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by hoosierref
Witnessed this the other day, (I was not working but was operating clock), Teams are lined up for free throw (bonus). As A-1 starts to shoot, B5 steps inside the 3-point line creating a violation, Also A-1 misses the cylinder on his attempt.

Discussion by the 3 working the game gave it alternating possesion.

But after the game we were all discussing it and came up with the violation by B would supersede the cylinder violation since it occured first. Is this correct? Looking for your input so I can learn from this situation.
Whatintheheck is a "cylinder violation"? And why would the ball missing the cylinder be a violation anyway? Does that mean if the FT shooter clanks a line drive off the front of the ring, or the ball just brushed the front of the ring,you'd call a violation because it didn't touch the cylinder?

You may want to re-think your premise on this one.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 26, 2008, 03:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Posts: 412
Send a message via MSN to crazy voyager
This is a violation by the shooter and therefore B gets the ball.
If two rebounders (one from each time) had violated we would have a jump ball.
43.3.1 If a violation is committed by a free-throw shooter:
• Point, if made, shall not count.
• Any other player’s violation, which occurs immediately before, at approximately the same time as, or after the violation committed by the free-throw shooter, shall be disregarded.

43.3.3 If a free throw is not successful and the violation is committed by:
• A team-mate of the free-throw shooter on the last or only free throw, the ball shall be awarded to the opponents for a throw-in at the free-throw line extended unless that team is entitled to further possession.
• An opponent of the free-throw shooter, a substitute free throw shall be awarded to the free-throw shooter.
• Both teams, on the last or only free throw, a jump ball situation occurs.
__________________
All posts I do refers to FIBA rules
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lane Violation? Grail Basketball 2 Sat Nov 20, 2004 08:34pm
1 &1 w/lane violation gostars Basketball 1 Thu Nov 11, 2004 12:12pm
Lane Violation BMA Basketball 14 Fri Aug 17, 2001 10:45pm
Lane violation or not D.Hosler Basketball 11 Wed Feb 09, 2000 06:46pm
Lane Violation John Choiniere Basketball 7 Mon Feb 07, 2000 11:02am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1