The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 21, 2008, 09:16am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,956
My original reaction when I saw the hilights was "Charge" and a great call by the Lead.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 21, 2008, 09:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadNewsRef
My original reaction when I saw the hilights was "Charge" and a great call by the Lead.
It was a block because Harrington's right heel is on the restricted circle's line. If this was a high school or college game then it would be a Player Control. The Lead came out with the signal before the C but the C had a good look at his right heel and signaled a block even though his partner was calling a PC. This was a good job by the C to get the play right.

I can't imagine having to referee a play like that and also having to look at his feet to see if he is on the line.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 21, 2008, 09:57am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Anyone find a YouTube link?
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 21, 2008, 10:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
Anyone find a YouTube link?
You can see it on ESPN - link
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 21, 2008, 10:34am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,699
Definitely was a block, but by rule, they administered it incorrectly.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 21, 2008, 11:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 600
great call by Mike Callahan. Defenders Right heel was in the restricted area. This is not a blarge. If an official is ruling on a play just on the basis that a block/charge is involving the restricted area and the restricted area alone the other officials may come to the official who made the call and give extra information. For example, if Lead has an offensive foul and it WAS an RA play, and the slot sees that his heel was raised but over the RA line then he may come to the lead and say, "John, I have white #42 with his heels raised in the RA, it should be a block." There is rarely, if ever, any debate. The Lead changes the call and awards the free throws.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 21, 2008, 11:11am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,699
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64
If an official is ruling on a play just on the basis that a block/charge is involving the restricted area and the restricted area alone the other officials may come to the official who made the call and give extra information.
You know what? That's right. I forgot about that. I think there's a ruling about a difference of opinion NOT involving the Restricted Area. I had forgotten about that. Excellent point.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 21, 2008, 11:34am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64
great call by Mike Callahan. Defenders Right heel was in the restricted area. This is not a blarge. If an official is ruling on a play just on the basis that a block/charge is involving the restricted area and the restricted area alone the other officials may come to the official who made the call and give extra information. For example, if Lead has an offensive foul and it WAS an RA play, and the slot sees that his heel was raised but over the RA line then he may come to the lead and say, "John, I have white #42 with his heels raised in the RA, it should be a block." There is rarely, if ever, any debate. The Lead changes the call and awards the free throws.
Completely agree.

The same should happen in our Fed games if a player taking a charge was standing on the OOB line and two conflicting signals happen. If one officials shares with the other that B was OOB, then by rule you have a block. Now, if the PC official's judgment remains that B was IB, then I think you have to go with the DF.

That NBA crew looked great getting the call correct.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Blarge tjones1 Basketball 4 Thu Dec 28, 2006 01:46am
NBA Blarge All_Heart Basketball 8 Sat Apr 15, 2006 01:29pm
Blarge All_Heart Basketball 14 Wed Feb 22, 2006 12:39pm
BLARGE chayce Basketball 46 Wed Feb 09, 2005 12:18pm
Blarge Mike Burns Basketball 31 Sat Jan 24, 2004 01:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1