The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2008, 11:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Two rules questions

These came up at a meeting I was at tonight

1. Team A only has 5 players available. A1 is fouled and is going to the line when it is realized he is bleeding. The player has to be taken off the floor for medical attention. Who shoots the free throws, as A has no subs available?

2. A1 attempts a shot. While the ball is airborne, A3 pushes A2 under the basket. The shot goes in. Does the goal count and how is the foul administered?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2008, 11:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,634
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomSegi
These came up at a meeting I was at tonight

1. Team A only has 5 players available. A1 is fouled and is going to the line when it is realized he is bleeding. The player has to be taken off the floor for medical attention. Who shoots the free throws, as A has no subs available?

2. A1 attempts a shot. While the ball is airborne, A3 pushes A2 under the basket. The shot goes in. Does the goal count and how is the foul administered?
1. The Head Coach or team captain will designate one of the remaining four players to attempt the FTs for the injured/bleeding player. Rule 8-2.

2. Yes, the goal counts. Rule 6-7-7 exception a.
The administration is either bonus FTs or the ball OOB (team may run the end line) depending upon the team foul count in the half.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2008, 11:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 208
Lol

Quote:
Originally Posted by TomSegi
These came up at a meeting I was at tonight

1. Team A only has 5 players available. A1 is fouled and is going to the line when it is realized he is bleeding. The player has to be taken off the floor for medical attention. Who shoots the free throws, as A has no subs available?

2. A1 attempts a shot. While the ball is airborne, A3 pushes A2 under the basket. The shot goes in. Does the goal count and how is the foul administered?
I know nevada has the rules references, and that the OP was a typo, but if A3 pushes A2 I just smile.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 11, 2008, 11:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Yes, typo. I meant A3 pushes B2. Thank you for the quick response.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some rules questions hags7 Baseball 12 Tue May 02, 2006 10:04am
rules questions tsumpire Football 2 Sun Dec 11, 2005 01:14pm
2 rules questions roadking Basketball 3 Mon Oct 10, 2005 12:56pm
Two rules questions RazorRef Football 15 Tue Oct 19, 2004 06:37am
Two rules questions...please help... trippingants4134 Basketball 24 Wed Feb 27, 2002 03:07pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1