![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Geeze, what a buncha smart-azzes in this thread.
"A friend of mine" just a had a very similar play happen to them, except no one in the crew had a whistle right away. A1 goes up for the shot, B1 stuffs the shot, and just as they both come down with the ball, the shot clock horn goes off. One official was waiting for the other to call the held ball, while the first was waiting for someone to come in with the shot clock violation. What a bunch of maroons. Finally, someone blew the whistle. Anyway, the held ball definitely occured first, but the horn went off too soon after to have a good idea how much (if any) time should be added back to the shot clock. Also in this case, the arrow was pointing to A. "My friend" went with the shot clock violation, and kept the arrow the same. Just curious - what's everyone's take on when a held ball should be called: is it at the moment when a player's shot gets held, or not until they both return to the floor?
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
Of course, if the airborne shooter actually can either pass or shoot before coming down, the ball NEVER was held(NFHS rule 4-25-2).
|
|
|||
|
Quote:
Just sayin... |
|
|||
|
Quote:
What if you hold your whistle for a moment (or several, but that's not important right now), and even though the initial shot was stopped, the player was able to pull the ball away and pass before landing? 4-25-2 says a held ball occurs when, "An opponent places their hand(s) on the ball and prevents an airborne player from throwing the ball or releasing it on a try". If they did indeed pass the ball before landing, the opponent didn't actually prevent the release, now did they? Or does the initial shot stoppage count as the actual prevention? Just sayin'... So many questions, so little bandwidth...
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department. (Used with permission.) |
|
|||
|
Quote:
In this sitch it is a shot clock violation. As far as a held ball... what if A1 gets a hand on B1's attempt and B1 does not lose control or bobble it due to it getting hit nor does he take the shot but he instead comes to the ground with the ball. What do you think that should be? |
|
|||
|
Quote:
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| Shot Clock Violation? | OHBBREF | Basketball | 8 | Wed Jan 17, 2007 08:29pm |
| SHOT CLOCK VIOLATION? | MRIGUY | Basketball | 9 | Mon Dec 19, 2005 08:58pm |
| Shot Clock Violation Reviewable? | aces88 | Basketball | 1 | Mon Mar 07, 2005 02:29pm |
| Question on shot clock violation | jbandbb | Basketball | 2 | Mon Mar 01, 2004 10:51pm |
| Is it a Shot Clock Violation? | RdBallRef | Basketball | 7 | Tue Nov 06, 2001 01:50pm |