The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Simultaneous Shot Clock Violation/Held Ball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/41647-simultaneous-shot-clock-violation-held-ball.html)

SCalScoreKeeper Tue Feb 05, 2008 10:54pm

Simultaneous Shot Clock Violation/Held Ball
 
Hey Everybody,
This happened to me in a Varsity girls game last night:
A1 shoots late in the shot clock sequence (5 seconds or less remaining) with the rebound being controlled by A4 and B2. As our shot clock hit zero my trail called a held ball while the lead called the shot clock violation! What do you have here?

Adam Tue Feb 05, 2008 11:01pm

Be glad everyone didn't freeze waiting for someone else to hit his whistle. I've heard that can happen in these cases.

ca_rumperee Tue Feb 05, 2008 11:02pm

Ball failed to hit rim?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SCalScoreKeeper
Hey Everybody,
This happened to me in a Varsity girls game last night:
A1 shoots late in the shot clock sequence (5 seconds or less remaining) with the rebound being controlled by A4 and B2. As our shot clock hit zero my trail called a held ball while the lead called the shot clock violation! What do you have here?

yeah?

SCalScoreKeeper Tue Feb 05, 2008 11:09pm

Yeah the ball failed to hit the rim!

Adam Tue Feb 05, 2008 11:18pm

I'd go with the violation on this. No time on the shot clock for a throwin.

ca_rumperee Wed Feb 06, 2008 12:19am

Violation.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SCalScoreKeeper
Hey Everybody,
This happened to me in a Varsity girls game last night:
A1 shoots late in the shot clock sequence (5 seconds or less remaining) with the rebound being controlled by A4 and B2. As our shot clock hit zero my trail called a held ball while the lead called the shot clock violation! What do you have here?

I'm assuming that by "shot clock hit zero" you mean the horn sounded.
I have a shot clock violation. DO NOT go to the arrow.
B ball.

rockyroad Wed Feb 06, 2008 12:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Be glad everyone didn't freeze waiting for someone else to hit his whistle. I've heard that can happen in these cases.

Boy that would really suck. Might even have to e-mail some friends and have a boring argument about what to do.:D

rainmaker Wed Feb 06, 2008 01:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad
Boy that would really suck. Might even have to e-mail some friends and have a boring argument about what to do.:D

The arguement about what to do in the sitch wouldn't have to be boring, but trying to decide whether or not it DID get boring, well, that could get excruciatingly tedious!

Dan_ref Wed Feb 06, 2008 06:15am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rainmaker
The arguement about what to do in the sitch wouldn't have to be boring, but trying to decide whether or not it DID get boring, well, that could get excruciatingly tedious!

On the boring meter for this thread I'm getting a 7...excruciatingly tedious kicks in at 8.

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 06, 2008 07:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad
Might even have to e-mail some <font color = red>friends</font> and have a boring argument about what to do.

There ya go "assuming" again.....:rolleyes:

Just saying......

M&M Guy Wed Feb 06, 2008 09:50am

Geeze, what a buncha smart-azzes in this thread.

"A friend of mine" just a had a very similar play happen to them, except no one in the crew had a whistle right away. A1 goes up for the shot, B1 stuffs the shot, and just as they both come down with the ball, the shot clock horn goes off. One official was waiting for the other to call the held ball, while the first was waiting for someone to come in with the shot clock violation. What a bunch of maroons. Finally, someone blew the whistle. Anyway, the held ball definitely occured first, but the horn went off too soon after to have a good idea how much (if any) time should be added back to the shot clock. Also in this case, the arrow was pointing to A.

"My friend" went with the shot clock violation, and kept the arrow the same.

Just curious - what's everyone's take on when a held ball should be called: is it at the moment when a player's shot gets held, or not until they both return to the floor?

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 06, 2008 10:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Just curious - what's everyone's take on when a held ball should be called: is it at the moment when a player's shot gets held, or not until they both return to the floor?

Put me down for "at the moment when a player's shot gets held."

Of course, if the airborne shooter actually can either pass or shoot before coming down, the ball <b>NEVER</b> was held(NFHS rule 4-25-2).:D

rockyroad Wed Feb 06, 2008 10:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
There ya go "assuming" again.....:rolleyes:

Just saying......

Ouch. That's gonna leave a mark!:)

btaylor64 Wed Feb 06, 2008 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Geeze, what a buncha smart-azzes in this thread.

"A friend of mine" just a had a very similar play happen to them, except no one in the crew had a whistle right away. A1 goes up for the shot, B1 stuffs the shot, and just as they both come down with the ball, the shot clock horn goes off. One official was waiting for the other to call the held ball, while the first was waiting for someone to come in with the shot clock violation. What a bunch of maroons. Finally, someone blew the whistle. Anyway, the held ball definitely occured first, but the horn went off too soon after to have a good idea how much (if any) time should be added back to the shot clock. Also in this case, the arrow was pointing to A.

"My friend" went with the shot clock violation, and kept the arrow the same.

Just curious - what's everyone's take on when a held ball should be called: is it at the moment when a player's shot gets held, or not until they both return to the floor?


In this sitch it is a shot clock violation.

As far as a held ball... what if A1 gets a hand on B1's attempt and B1 does not lose control or bobble it due to it getting hit nor does he take the shot but he instead comes to the ground with the ball. What do you think that should be?

jdw3018 Wed Feb 06, 2008 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by btaylor64
In this sitch it is a shot clock violation.

As far as a held ball... what if A1 gets a hand on B1's attempt and B1 does not lose control or bobble it due to it getting hit nor does he take the shot but he instead comes to the ground with the ball. What do you think that should be?

If the touching did not prevent a shot or pass, it's traveling. If the touching did prevent the shot, then it's a held ball.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1