The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 05:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Franklin, IN
Posts: 16
Sounds like it was one of those you had to see to call. To me it sounds like the right call with defensive player jumping straight up. Did A1 go straight into him or just to the side making contact???
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 05:45am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,022
The guard may legally jump. He may legally turn or duck, but he must remain within his vertical plane. If he didn't by sticking out his forearm, then his action was illegal.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 06:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to dave30
The offensive player went straight into the defender.

The only part where I question myself is whether or not the raising of the forearm to brace for a collision (and then the offensive player's face crashed into it) is enough to justify calling it a block on the defense.

In my mind, I have no doubt the offensive player's ONLY intention was to create contact and crash into the defender.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 26, 2008, 07:50am
9/11 - Never Forget
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 5,642
Send a message via Yahoo to grunewar
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave30
In my mind, I have no doubt the offensive player's ONLY intention was to create contact and crash into the defender.
I've had several Rec players with this same attitude and demeanor and they never understand why I call the offensive foul.....probably, because none of the other Refs do....
__________________
There was the person who sent ten puns to friends, with the hope that at least one of the puns would make them laugh. No pun in ten did.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 27, 2008, 03:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
[quote=Nevadaref]The guard may legally jump. He may legally turn or duck, but he must remain within his vertical plane. If he didn't by sticking out his forearm, then his action was illegal.[/quote]

Neveda, I'm so disapointed.

Using your arms to soften an impending collision doesn't make it a block.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2008, 02:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to dave30
I do think the forearm was only to protect himself and it wasn't his fault that the offensive player's face hit them so I guess I made the right call. Thanks for the confirmation!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2008, 01:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,022
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
The guard may legally jump. He may legally turn or duck, but he must remain within his vertical plane. If he didn't by sticking out his forearm, then his action was illegal.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Neveda, I'm so disapointed.

Using your arms to soften an impending collision doesn't make it a block.
Where did I write that this was a block? I'm so disappointed. Think NFHS signal #29.

Quote:
Originally Posted by justacoach
With all due deference, does 4-24-3 strike a familiar note?
With all due deference, does 4-24-6 strike a familiar note?
...It is not legal to extend the arms fully or partially in a position other than vertical so that the freedom of movement of an opponent is hindered when contact with the arms occurs. The extension of the elbows when the hands are on the hips or when the hands are held near the chest or when the arms are held more or less horizontally are examples of illegal positions used.

I only wrote a short reply earlier. In my opinion, JR explained it in better detail. Depending upon what the defender did with his arm, which the OP only described as "sticks out his forearm," this call could go either way.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Straight judgment call imo. It depends on what you think the defender is doing with his forearms. If the forearms are just there....passive.....and the offensive player initiates contact on what would have been the defender's torso except for the forearms, I'd have a charge in that case. That's why this one is a htbt call, as you said above. Can't really tell without seeing it.

Last edited by Nevadaref; Mon Jan 28, 2008 at 01:46pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2008, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Where did I write that this was a block? I'm so disappointed. Think NFHS signal #29.
Block, push, whatever. Sticking the arms forward to soften a crash is not a foul.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
With all due deference, does 4-24-6 strike a familiar note?
...It is not legal to extend the arms fully or partially in a position other than vertical so that the freedom of movement of an opponent is hindered when contact with the arms occurs. The extension of the elbows when the hands are on the hips or when the hands are held near the chest or when the arms are held more or less horizontally are examples of illegal positions used.
You've missed the whole point. This is talking about the player making themselves wider by extending their arms/elbows outside their frame. Sticking them out in from to shield a collision is NOT what this is talking about. Remember that the opponent was already committed and the extension of the arm is not hindering the opponents freedom of movement....they're already committed and a crash is imminent.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I only wrote a short reply earlier. In my opinion, JR explained it in better detail. Depending upon what the defender did with his arm, which the OP only described as "sticks out his forearm," this call could go either way.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 28, 2008, 11:11am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
The guard may legally jump. He may legally turn or duck, but he must remain within his vertical plane. If he didn't by sticking out his forearm, then his action was illegal.

With all due deference, does 4-24-3 strike a familiar note?
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASA OBS call then no call leads to ejection DaveASA/FED Softball 28 Mon Jul 12, 2004 03:52pm
To call or not to call foul ball DaveASA/FED Softball 11 Thu Jun 24, 2004 11:47am
More Pacers/Pistons call/no call OverAndBack Basketball 36 Thu Jun 03, 2004 07:01pm
Good Call / Bad Call whiskers_ump Softball 29 Fri Mar 28, 2003 09:35am
Does one call relate to the last call? Tee Basketball 28 Thu Feb 13, 2003 05:53pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1