Correctable Error FT Situation
Let me preface this with two things: 1. I was not present for this last night, so I didn't see it, but everything is confirmed. 2. I searched other threads before posting this to see if I could string some things together to answer my own questions. I'd just like some confirmations if I'm right, and a clarification of my thinking if I have misinterpreted what I read in other threads. As always, thanks in advance for your responses.
JV G, 4th quarter, 14.0 remaining, Home down 2pts.
H1 is fouled (non-shooting), and is Visitors 10th team foul, so H1 should be shooting the double bonus. Referee administering advises all players it is 1+1 and neither the other officials nor anyone else notices or says anything. H1 shoots and misses, legally obtains own rebound and scores to tie game. V1 inbounds ball to V2, who dribbles ahead and is unable to get shot off, so regulation ends tied.
After regulation has ended, but before the ball has become live to start the OT, the officials determine that the FT's with 14.0 should have been a double bonus. The lead official (inexperienced) tells table and both coaches that the basket by H1 will be expunged, time will be set to 14.0 and the 2nd FT will be taken. Once play resumed, FT was missed, V gets rebound and dribbles out clock, Home loses.
I don't think this situation was handled correctly. From what I have read in other threads, the opportunity to correct this error closed when V inbounded the ball after H1's successful 2pt basket. If anything, shouldn't the OT been started with H's additional merited FT, and the a jump-ball?
|