View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 24, 2008, 10:43pm
ca_rumperee ca_rumperee is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 208
I know this was posted earlier, but here is my take (without reading down the page)

Quote:
Originally Posted by reddevil19
JV G, 4th quarter, 14.0 remaining, Home down 2pts.

H1 is fouled (non-shooting), and is Visitors 10th team foul, so H1 should be shooting the double bonus. Referee administering advises all players it is 1+1 and neither the other officials nor anyone else notices or says anything. H1 shoots and misses, legally obtains own rebound and scores to tie game. V1 inbounds ball to V2, who dribbles ahead and is unable to get shot off, so regulation ends tied.

After regulation has ended, but before the ball has become live to start the OT, the officials determine that the FT's with 14.0 should have been a double bonus. The lead official (inexperienced) tells table and both coaches that the basket by H1 will be expunged, time will be set to 14.0 and the 2nd FT will be taken. Once play resumed, FT was missed, V gets rebound and dribbles out clock, Home loses.
My take is that this is correctable. The information is coming to the referees DURING the first dead ball AFTER the ball became live AFTER the error.

My understanding would be that everything that happened AFTER the original error is let stand... EVEN the fact that the first miss was converted to a basket. This is my understanding of correctable errors.. they can lead to inequitable situations.

So, here we are after regulation with a tied score...
H1 gets to go to the line and try her 2nd free throw. If good, game over. If missed, overtime.

That is my, "If I were there and on the spot" reaction to the above scenario.

I can't wait to post, and scroll down and see what the "right answer" will be... although I am confident that I am right... AND I know how to use the edit function!
Reply With Quote