The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 08, 2008, 02:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
Casebook 5.6 Comment B: If a technical foul occurs after the ball has become dead to end a quarter, the next quarter is started by administering the free throws. This applies even when the foul occurs after the first half has ended.

FT's to start 2nd half.
Except, the ball hasn't become dead to end the quarters if the FTs for the shooting foul haven't been attempted.

If the FTs have already been attempted, then obviously this case (which is being discussed in another thread today) applies. We're talking about a case where the quarter hasn't actually ended. I just don't know if there's a case book reference for this one.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 08, 2008, 02:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
Except, the ball hasn't become dead to end the quarters if the FTs for the shooting foul haven't been attempted.

If the FTs have already been attempted, then obviously this case (which is being discussed in another thread today) applies. We're talking about a case where the quarter hasn't actually ended. I just don't know if there's a case book reference for this one.

Ok, you are correct it's not clear if the free throws had been shot prior to the T.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 08, 2008, 02:15pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Case book plays 5.6.2SitD&H. The technical is part of the previous quarter.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 08, 2008, 02:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Case book plays 5.6.2SitD&H. The technical is part of the previous quarter.
So, Are you saying treat end of half situations the same as end of game to determine winner or loser?
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 08, 2008, 02:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
So, Are you saying treat end of half situations the same as end of game to determine winner or loser?
Just got my casebook out:

5.6.2 D Ruling: "...the two free throws for the technical foul are attempted as part of the fourth quarter as teh foul occured before the fourth quarter had ended."

This seems to apply to any quarter, not just end of game situations.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 08, 2008, 02:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
Just got my casebook out:

5.6.2 D Ruling: "...the two free throws for the technical foul are attempted as part of the fourth quarter as teh foul occured before the fourth quarter had ended."

This seems to apply to any quarter, not just end of game situations.
Agreed!! in the OP it's not totally clear whether the T happen before of after the FT's for the foul shot ending the half.
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 08, 2008, 04:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 308
Send a message via AIM to IUgrad92
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
Agreed!! in the OP it's not totally clear whether the T happen before of after the FT's for the foul shot ending the half.
My bad. The technical happened prior to the free throws for the foul. Team B didn't have to stick around for those free throws, so that is why they left the court. I'm assuming an assistant or some representative stayed to watch.

Good responses! The free throws for the T were given right after the free throws for the shooting foul. In the locker room the JV officials were told by the varsity officials there for the next game that they should have shot the T free throws to start the 3rd quarter........
__________________
When the horn sounds, we're outta here.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 09, 2008, 11:07am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 79
Ap??

Do you give the ball to the team who shot the technical to start the 2nd half or go to the arrow?? I would say you give it to the team who shot the technicals??Correct??
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 09, 2008, 11:17am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidMadness
Do you give the ball to the team who shot the technical to start the 2nd half or go to the arrow?? I would say you give it to the team who shot the technicals??Correct??
Wrong. The FT's for the "T" were shot as part of the second quarter. No part of a penalty in one quarter carries over to the next quarter. That's rule 5-6EXCEPTION3. The throw-in was part of the penalty for the "T" which was part of the second quarter.

Start the third quarter with an AP throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 08, 2008, 02:18pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
If the technical occurred before all the free throws were complete it is still part of the 2nd quarter. Shoot the two technical foul free throws before heading to the locker room. In this situation, to start the 3rd quarter you use the AP (penalty can't carry over).

If it occurred after the shots were completed. The 3rd quarter is started with two shots for the technical foul. Team A gets the ball at the division line for a throw-in. The AP is not used in this situation, thus it doesn't get reversed.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 08, 2008, 02:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by tjones1
If the technical occurred before all the free throws were complete it is still part of the 2nd quarter. Shoot the two technical foul free throws before heading to the locker room. In this situation, to start the 3rd quarter you use the AP (penalty can't carry over).

If it occurred after the shots were completed. The 3rd quarter is started with two shots for the technical foul. Team A gets the ball at the division line for a throw-in. The AP is not used in this situation, thus it doesn't get reversed.
That's the right answer(s).
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 08, 2008, 04:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Ironically, I watched a boys varsity game last weekend where the same thing happened, except that there were no shots to be taken (player control foul). The coach apparently said one of the magic words on his way to the locker room, and a rabbit-eared official T'd him up. They took the shots right then, not waiting for the third quarter. Two varsity officials I asked later that weekend said this was the correct procedure. From what I see here, this should have been done at the start of the third quarter.

Would this be considered a correctable error, had the coach known the correct rule? (The shooter made both FTs, so perhaps he might have wanted the shots taken again in the hope one or more would be missed.)
__________________
I couldn't afford a cool signature, so I just got this one.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 08, 2008, 04:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
Would this be considered a correctable error,
Which part of 2-10 applies?

The only thing to "correct" would be to give the ball to the correct team as part of the penalty to start the third quarter. Once that throw-in ends, however, then it's too late.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 08, 2008, 04:47pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
The coach apparently said one of the magic words on his way to the locker room, and a rabbit-eared official T'd him up. They took the shots right then, not waiting for the third quarter. Two varsity officials I asked later that weekend said this was the correct procedure. From what I see here, this should have been done at the start of the third quarter.

Would this be considered a correctable error, had the coach known the correct rule? (The shooter made both FTs, so perhaps he might have wanted the shots taken again in the hope one or more would be missed.)
Rabbit-eared? For not ignoring being sworn at? I sureasheck wouldn't call that rabbit-eared. I'd call it taking care of bidness.

Yes, the FT's for the "T" should have been taken at the start of the third quarter and the shooting team also should have got the throw-in that goes along with the "T"(instead of an AP throw-in). It is not a correctable error per se though. All merited FT's were taken.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4th time out in a half boone17 Football 4 Sat Sep 30, 2006 11:38pm
Dunking at Half 'T'. Jerry Blum Basketball 4 Mon Dec 22, 2003 01:54pm
Half way up Cyber-Ref Basketball 9 Tue Dec 09, 2003 05:04pm
Don't come out for second half? db Basketball 9 Tue Jan 09, 2001 11:20am
T at the half Matt S. Basketball 1 Thu Feb 24, 2000 09:51am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1