![]() |
|
|
|||
It appears you handled it correctly - except that the way you have worded it a disqualified player (A1) attempted his free throws. A1 and B1 should have been disqualified immediately, and then A1's substitute should have attempted the free throws.
|
|
|||
Quote:
thanks stew in Va |
|
|||
The fighting fouls comprise a double flagrant technical, and the penalty would be DQ and POI, which I believe because of the succeeding foul calls would be A throw-in at midcourt.
All double personal fouls and double technical fouls are POI, which would only involve the AP arrow if there were no clear team control. Edited to correct for my complete inability to read ![]()
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming Last edited by Back In The Saddle; Fri Dec 28, 2007 at 01:09pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Strictly speaking in this case the POI is the awarding of the first of the two FTs that are due to A1's substitute because of the personal foul by B1. Since a team is entitled to a FT, per 4-36-2b the game is picked up from there and then the rest of the fouls are penalized in order. As the final foul to be penalized is the intentional technical foul (for the dead ball contact) by B1, Team A will be awarded a throw-in at the division line following those FTs. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
So the administration of the fighting T's does not occur until after that for the personal foul and the first technical. There are rules that tell us we must replace the DQ'd players before proceeding with the first free throw. But that does not constitute administering the penalty for the double T. 4-36-2b is the proper POI option for this situation. b. A free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such. But when considered in concert with 8-7, that leaves the concluding phrase of 4-36-2b as the simplest possibility. At this point the only activity remaining is the throw-in due to the first technical, and team A "is entitled to such." I think that makes more sense that saying that the POI was (emphasis on the past-tenseness of this argument) a few free throws ago. I can think of no other situation in which we would deem the POI to be a time that occurred previously in the game. In the end, you are right that the end result is the same. I've got to run and can't immediately think of any other cases that would be useful in thinking about this. If you've got one, I'd like to hear it.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Quote:
A2 and B2 are charged with flagrant technicals and disqualified. Then the game proceeds with A1 shooting the double bonus with players on the lane. If we waited until after the fouls were administered in order to apply POI, we'd clear the lane and then have a POI after the 2nd free throw. |
|
|||
Quote:
However, setting that aside for the moment, I don't agree that you'd shoot the free throws with the lane cleared. Whether or not to clear the lane (NFHS 8-1-3) is always a forward looking decision, based on whether the ball will be dead after shooting the free throws. There is nothing in the penalty for a double technical that makes the ball dead. Logically, if not exactly by rule, the POI would be to carry on from the end of the free throws. I can see the disconnect in the rules over this. What changes would fix this?
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
|
|||
Quote:
8-7 needs to be amended to contain, "except for double and simultaneous fouls." The fact is that in order to properly enforce the POI rule, we must ignore 8-7 in these situations. Post #12 by jdw demonstrates why. PS rainmaker, yes, I am talking about NFHS rules. The real POI is how we make the ball live again. Last edited by Nevadaref; Sat Dec 29, 2007 at 09:58pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
So if you go in order:
1) shoot the double bonus w/ A1's sub 2) shoot the two T's w/ any member from A 3) double technical would then go to the AP to see who got the ball at midcourt. Would that be right??? |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
A question on a play and a mechanics question. | aevans410 | Baseball | 11 | Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am |
two questions - start of half question and free throw question | hoopguy | Basketball | 6 | Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm |
Rule Question and Mechanics Question | Stair-Climber | Softball | 15 | Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am |
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question | CoaachJF | Basketball | 15 | Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm |