The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Dec 21, 2007, 05:25pm
Official Forum Member

Mechanics

Being a rookie I understand there is no over the back it is a push, but what mechanic do we use on the reach in foul. Is it a hold? When the bigs on offense hook to get around their man. What mechanic do you use? Reaching from behind. Hold? Thanks for your help.
Old Fri Dec 21, 2007, 05:32pm
Official Forum Member

No such thing as a reach-in foul so remove the words from your vocabulary. It will help you in the long run. Which foul it is depends on what happens. Was there contact with the arm against the body? Then it's illegal use of hands. Did the arm contact the body and hold the dribbler from his/her path? Then it's a hold. Did the reach cause body contact? Then it's a push or a block.

For the hook - I signal a hold and verbally say hooking. If I really have to sell it, I'll give the hold followed by a hooking motion, but not very often.
Old Fri Dec 21, 2007, 05:41pm
I got a Basketball Jones!

Be prepared

Welcome to the forum. The moniker you have chosen may elicit some sharp comments. A previous forum member had a similar name and he proved to be quite the buffoon. I'm sure you will get some light-hearted comments due to your alias. Just be ready. You may want to do a search on some of your namesakes creative work.

Enjoy your time here
Old Fri Dec 21, 2007, 06:30pm
certified Hot Mom tester

Quote:
Originally Posted by wisref2
For the hook - I signal a hold and verbally say hooking. If I really have to sell it, I'll give the hold followed by a hooking motion, but not very often.
I wish officials didn't do things like that. It perpetuates the myth that there is such a foul as a reach (or hook). Give the proper signal and let it go at that.
Old Fri Dec 21, 2007, 06:53pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett