![]() |
Mechanics
Being a rookie I understand there is no over the back it is a push, but what mechanic do we use on the reach in foul. Is it a hold? When the bigs on offense hook to get around their man. What mechanic do you use? Reaching from behind. Hold? Thanks for your help.
|
No such thing as a reach-in foul so remove the words from your vocabulary. It will help you in the long run. Which foul it is depends on what happens. Was there contact with the arm against the body? Then it's illegal use of hands. Did the arm contact the body and hold the dribbler from his/her path? Then it's a hold. Did the reach cause body contact? Then it's a push or a block.
For the hook - I signal a hold and verbally say hooking. If I really have to sell it, I'll give the hold followed by a hooking motion, but not very often. |
Be prepared
Welcome to the forum. The moniker you have chosen may elicit some sharp comments. A previous forum member had a similar name and he proved to be quite the buffoon. I'm sure you will get some light-hearted comments due to your alias. Just be ready. You may want to do a search on some of your namesakes creative work.
Enjoy your time here |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Official: "There's no such foul as a reach, coach." Coach: "What!!! That's what you called last time." |
Quote:
|
For the hook, use the "player control" mechanic. If it's not the kid with the ball, use the holding mechanic. If coach asks for clarification, just say "He hooked him."
|
Quote:
I used it last night, matter of fact. Post holding the defender. Punch with the right fist, followed by a hook with the left hand. |
I really don't have a problem with the mechanic. I'm just at a point where I'm trying to use prescribed mechanics only. When I'm good enough at the correct mechanics, I might embellish. ;)
|
Quote:
|
I think he's in good shape as long as it isn't followed by a bite on the ear.
|
Two Of My Favorite Myths
15) Reaching in is not a foul. There must be contact to have a foul. The mere act of reaching in, by itself, is nothing. If contact does occur, it’s either a holding foul or an illegal use of hands foul. When a player, in order to stop the clock, does not make a legitimate play for the ball, holds, pushes or grabs away from the ball, or uses undue roughness, the foul is an intentional foul.
16) Over the back is not a foul. The term is nowhere to be found in any rulebook. There must be contact to have a foul. A taller player may often be able to get a rebound over a shorter player, even if the shorter player has good rebounding position. If the shorter player is displaced, then a pushing foul must be called. A rebounding player, with an inside position, while boxing out, is not allowed to push back or displace an opponent, which is a pushing foul. |
Friend and regular partner of mine was working at a good, small school, rural girls program. The head coach is frequently an announcer on the TV broadcast of the state tournament.
She was stunned, flabbergasted, at the fact that they wouldn't call illegal screens on the other team. Yup, you guess it, the screens were so poorly set her players went right around them, without contact. "But they're moving!" "Yeah, but you can't have a foul without contact." "Really!?! That's news to me!!!" Sometimes you just want to hit your head against a concrete wall until it all makes sense or you don't care anymore. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:19am. |