The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 14, 2007, 03:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by wisref2
Please include rule or casebook references:

1 - A1 is fouled and A is in the bonus. Before the first free throw, A calls a timeout. After the warning horn, A6 checks in as a sub. The officials deny entry. After the first free throw, the horn sounds again. What do you do with A6?
Allow A6 to enter after the first free throw. The first attempted entry was correctly denied for not having reported before the warning horn (NFHS 3-3-1a). However, A6 has now reported, and is eligible to enter at the next opportunity to substitute, which is after the first free throw is made. Although subbing before the second shot of a 1-and-1 is not common, it is legal per NFHS 3-3-1c.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wisref2
2 - A1 is fouled and A is in the bonus. Before the first free throw, A calls a timeout. During the timout, A6 replaces A2. After the first free throw, A2 reports as a sub and the horn blows. What do you do with A2?
Deny the substitution. A2 may not re-enter after being subbed out (or directed to leave the game) until the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been started properly following his/her replacement. NFHS 3-3-4. No time has run off the clock in this situation. A2 would also not be eligible to substitute after the second free throw, if was made.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wisref2
3 - A is called for a violation. Substitute B6 is beckoned on the court and replaces B1. During the deadball period, the coach of A has been irate about the call. After the substitution is completed, the A coach receives a technical foul. B1 reports to the scorer's table wanting to check into the game to shoot the free throws for the T.
Not allowed. NFHS 8-3 allows any player of the offended team to shoot free throws for a technical foul, "including an eligible substitute or designated starter." Because of 3-3-4, B1 is not an eligible substitute and therefore is not entitled to shoot the free throws.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 situations cowbyfan1 Football 3 Wed Sep 21, 2005 09:26am
Help on two situations missinglink Basketball 4 Mon Jan 17, 2005 08:41am
2 situations schmitty1973 Football 2 Sun Aug 15, 2004 11:39am
gps-8 - 2 situations crew Basketball 13 Wed Feb 06, 2002 04:02pm
Situations Air JC Basketball 9 Thu Dec 27, 2001 06:36pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1