Thread: Sub situations
View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 14, 2007, 03:48pm
Back In The Saddle Back In The Saddle is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
Quote:
Originally Posted by wisref2
Please include rule or casebook references:

1 - A1 is fouled and A is in the bonus. Before the first free throw, A calls a timeout. After the warning horn, A6 checks in as a sub. The officials deny entry. After the first free throw, the horn sounds again. What do you do with A6?
Allow A6 to enter after the first free throw. The first attempted entry was correctly denied for not having reported before the warning horn (NFHS 3-3-1a). However, A6 has now reported, and is eligible to enter at the next opportunity to substitute, which is after the first free throw is made. Although subbing before the second shot of a 1-and-1 is not common, it is legal per NFHS 3-3-1c.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wisref2
2 - A1 is fouled and A is in the bonus. Before the first free throw, A calls a timeout. During the timout, A6 replaces A2. After the first free throw, A2 reports as a sub and the horn blows. What do you do with A2?
Deny the substitution. A2 may not re-enter after being subbed out (or directed to leave the game) until the next opportunity to substitute after the clock has been started properly following his/her replacement. NFHS 3-3-4. No time has run off the clock in this situation. A2 would also not be eligible to substitute after the second free throw, if was made.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wisref2
3 - A is called for a violation. Substitute B6 is beckoned on the court and replaces B1. During the deadball period, the coach of A has been irate about the call. After the substitution is completed, the A coach receives a technical foul. B1 reports to the scorer's table wanting to check into the game to shoot the free throws for the T.
Not allowed. NFHS 8-3 allows any player of the offended team to shoot free throws for a technical foul, "including an eligible substitute or designated starter." Because of 3-3-4, B1 is not an eligible substitute and therefore is not entitled to shoot the free throws.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote