![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
There, isn't that better?
__________________
Cheers, mb |
|
|||
Quote:
You are where you are until you get where you're going. The location of an airborne player is determined by where they last touched the court before becoming airborne. There are 3 elements to a BC violation, team control, last touched in front court by team with control, first touched in back court by team with control. In the case presented, team control by A was clearly established, the ball gained front court status when caught by A2 in front court, was last touched in front court by A2 when they passed it back to A1, and first touched in back court by A1 who still had back court status. Hence all 3 elements are satisfied & you have a BC violation.
__________________
Meddle not in the affairs of dragons - for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup! |
|
|||
Quote:
Actually, first touched by team in control after gaining backcourt status. It is not necessary that the actual touch be in the backcourt. Situation the other night: GV Throw-in from the frontcourt end line over everyone's head. It bounced a couple of times and A1 grabbed it right at the division line, in frontcourt, but she lost her balance. As she tumbled into backcourt, she dropped the ball, which bounced on the line two or three times, then trickled back into frontcourt. She stepped back into frontcourt and picked up the ball. I called the violation, expecting a big negative reaction from the coach, but there was none.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
So it didn't matter that it was the same player who picked it up? If her teammate would've touched it first, it was still a BC violation?
__________________
“Idealism is fine, but as it approaches reality the cost becomes prohibitive.” --William F. Buckley |
|
|||
Quote:
![]() If she would have fell WITH the ball, I would have accepted a travel. |
|
|||
Re. Mark Padgent's Question
Mark wrote: Freddy - I'd be interested in knowing why you had to ask. What was causing doubt? Please note - this is not a criticism, just trying to find out why some officials aren't sure of this rule. Thanks.
__________________ I called it a violation firmly and confidently. A veteran coach who typically questions no calls ever loudly yelled, "You got that one wrong!" Not enough to make me doubt my call, but enough to go to the rulebook and casebook when I got home to confirm my confidence. The rulebook is clear on the matter in its own confusing way. The casebook doesn't bring up a situation like that. So, in summary, it's a situation where I am confident as to the rule, but was just confirming it through the guys/girls on the webring. Like I like to think, "There's a fine line between confidence and cockiness." I want to pursue the former without lapsing into the latter. That's why this webring is a significant help to me. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Backcourt violation? | mu4scott | Basketball | 30 | Fri Feb 23, 2007 03:32pm |
Backcourt Violation? | gboutlaw | Basketball | 7 | Sun Feb 04, 2007 09:41am |
Backcourt Violation | USC04alum | Basketball | 5 | Thu Feb 09, 2006 01:37pm |
Backcourt Violation ? | tnroundballref | Basketball | 28 | Thu Feb 05, 2004 08:20pm |
Is it a backcourt violation ? | fshrake | Basketball | 2 | Sat Nov 04, 2000 02:32pm |