The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt violation? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40355-backcourt-violation.html)

Freddy Thu Dec 13, 2007 11:05pm

Backcourt violation?
 
Happened tonite. A1 in backcourt passes to A2 in frontcourt. A2 passes back to A1 who catches the pass in midair after jumping from backcourt, landing in the frontcourt with ball control. Backcourt violation?

kbilla Thu Dec 13, 2007 11:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy
Happened tonite. A1 in backcourt passes to A2 in frontcourt. A2 passes back to A1 who catches the pass in midair after jumping from backcourt, landing in the frontcourt with ball control. Backcourt violation?

yes

TimTaylor Thu Dec 13, 2007 11:12pm

Yes it is a BC violation - had the same thing happen in a GV game last Saturday.

Mark Padgett Fri Dec 14, 2007 12:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Freddy
Happened tonite. A1 in backcourt passes to A2 in frontcourt. A2 passes back to A1 who catches the pass in midair after jumping from backcourt, landing in the frontcourt with ball control. Backcourt violation?

Freddy - I'd be interested in knowing why you had to ask. What was causing doubt? Please note - this is not a criticism, just trying to find out why some officials aren't sure of this rule. Thanks.

bob jenkins Fri Dec 14, 2007 09:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
Freddy - I'd be interested in knowing why you had to ask. What was causing doubt? Please note - this is not a criticism, just trying to find out why some officials aren't sure of this rule. Thanks.

I agree. THere have been more questions about this rule this year than I can remember in the past (and most have nothing to do with the recent NFHS interps on the issue).

SamIAm Fri Dec 14, 2007 09:23am

Perhaps BasketBallRef is to blame as I don't recall his annual BackCourt Quiz. Did I miss it?

Freddy Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:15am

Re. Mark Padgent's Question
 
Mark wrote: Freddy - I'd be interested in knowing why you had to ask. What was causing doubt? Please note - this is not a criticism, just trying to find out why some officials aren't sure of this rule. Thanks.
__________________

I called it a violation firmly and confidently. A veteran coach who typically questions no calls ever loudly yelled, "You got that one wrong!" Not enough to make me doubt my call, but enough to go to the rulebook and casebook when I got home to confirm my confidence. The rulebook is clear on the matter in its own confusing way. The casebook doesn't bring up a situation like that. So, in summary, it's a situation where I am confident as to the rule, but was just confirming it through the guys/girls on the webring. Like I like to think, "There's a fine line between confidence and cockiness." I want to pursue the former without lapsing into the latter. That's why this webring is a significant help to me.

Freddy Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:16am

Mark - see explanation later in the thread. Thanx for you interest and for the way in which you stated your inquiry!

tjones1 Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SamIAm
Perhaps BasketBallRef is to blame as I don't recall his annual BackCourt Quiz. Did I miss it?

I don't think he's posted it in two years.

kblehman Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:30am

Originally Posted by Freddy
Happened tonite. A1 in backcourt passes to A2 in frontcourt. A2 passes back to A1 who catches the pass in midair after jumping from backcourt, landing in the frontcourt with ball control. Backcourt violation?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
Freddy - I'd be interested in knowing why you had to ask. What was causing doubt? Please note - this is not a criticism, just trying to find out why some officials aren't sure of this rule. Thanks.

I've had debates about this play, too, and I haven't yet seen an explanation in this thread. Is it because A1's last established position was in the backcourt and had not yet established position in the frontcourt?

bigdog5142 Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:35am

Ultimately, coaches DO NOT know this rule...and it makes some question their calls when coaches consistently badger about the backcourt violation.

Adam Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kblehman
Originally Posted by Freddy
Happened tonite. A1 in backcourt passes to A2 in frontcourt. A2 passes back to A1 who catches the pass in midair after jumping from backcourt, landing in the frontcourt with ball control. Backcourt violation?


I've had debates about this play, too, and I haven't yet seen an explanation in this thread. Is it because A1's last established position was in the backcourt and had not yet established position in the frontcourt?

Okay. Once A2 receives the initial pass from A1, the ball is now in FC with team control for A.
Once A1 touches the pass from A2, the ball now gains BC status since A2 has BC status by virtue of his last contact with the floor. For rule purposes, he may as well have been standing in the back court.

Freddy Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:41am

Yep
 
That's how I read it. I don't know if it fits in every circumstance, but someone somewhere on this board once said, "You are where you were until you get where you're going." I think that clearly fits this situation.

CoachP Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:43am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bigdog5142
Ultimately, coaches DO NOT know this rule...and it makes some question their calls when coaches consistently badger about the backcourt violation.

My Freshmen girls know this rule.....

OTOH, our varsity boys coach thought anytime a defender touches the Backboard, it's a technical.

tjones1 Fri Dec 14, 2007 11:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP
My Freshmen girls know this rule.....

OTOH, our varsity boys coach thought anytime a defender touches the Backboard, it's a technical.

Hmmm, that could be a very short night if that were the case.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1