The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by chartrusepengui
However - was the ball last touched by A? :-)
9-3-1...A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
There is no way to hit the hand and not hit the ball, OOB off of B1...that's my story and I'm sticking to it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
9-3-1...A player shall not cause the ball to go out of bounds.
However, if we are to strictly adhere to that logic, what would we have when A1 is tied up in the corner and throws the ball at B1's legs and it goes oob off of B1? That would seem to be another case where A1 caused the ball to go oob but we would never give the ball to B in this case.

For the record, on the original situation I'm giving the ball back to A as I consider that to be the "right" call.
__________________
Yo Lama....How about a little somethin' for the effort...
--Carl Spackler
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by MN BB Ref
However, if we are to strictly adhere to that logic, what would we have when A1 is tied up in the corner and throws the ball at B1's legs and it goes oob off of B1? That would seem to be another case where A1 caused the ball to go oob but we would never give the ball to B in this case.
I'm just giving information, actually, and am more interested in other responses than anything else. That said, the rebounding off of B1's leg is what caused the ball to go OOB, not A1's throwing of the ball.

Just like in the original post if B1 hits A1's hand while in contact with the ball causing the ball to go off A1's foot OOB, then it's B's ball...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by MN BB Ref
However, if we are to strictly adhere to that logic, what would we have when A1 is tied up in the corner and throws the ball at B1's legs and it goes oob off of B1? That would seem to be another case where A1 caused the ball to go oob but we would never give the ball to B in this case.

For the record, on the original situation I'm giving the ball back to A as I consider that to be the "right" call.
In your stated case, IMO, B1 caused the ball to go out of bounds (off his/her legs). Again you are assuming A1 "intentionally" threw the ball at the legs of B1 rather than attempting a pass that "happened" to hit B1 in the legs. I believe the rules reference hitting someone in the face intentionally, but the legs are fair game...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 01:10pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
but the legs are fair game...
Especially on dates.

I can't wait for Juulie's comment.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 01:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Padgett
Especially on dates.

I can't wait for Juulie's comment.
I'm glad you're too old and ugly to be of interest to my daughter!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 01:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
I'm glad you're too old and ugly to be of interest to my daughter! a living human
I've seen his picture.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 01:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: WI
Posts: 825
the hand bone's connected to the wrist bone,
the wrist bone's connected to the arm bone,
the arm bone's connected to the elbow bone,
the elbow bone's connected to the upper arm bone,
the upper arm bone's connected to the shoulder bone, ........ etc.

ball off A OOB giver to B
__________________
When I want your opinion - I'll give it to you!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 01:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by chartrusepengui
the hand bone's connected to the wrist bone,
the wrist bone's connected to the arm bone,
the arm bone's connected to the elbow bone,
the elbow bone's connected to the upper arm bone,
the upper arm bone's connected to the shoulder bone, ........ etc.

ball off A OOB giver to B
Let me see if I understand you. You are going to award B1 the ball for slapping A1s hand, resulting in the ball going OOBs? So if B1 had only hit the ball and not the hand, then its out on B1? Therefore you do not agree that the "hand" on the ball, is the same as the ball? That being said, you must call a foul each time the player, while shooting, gets their "hand" hit while in contact with the ball... correct?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 01:54pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Personally, I can't imagine seeing this play so well and so clearly that I could tell B1's hand didn't touch the ball.

By rule, it's B's ball. I'm just not good enough to make that call.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 01:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Snaqs,
What rule did I miss that makes it B's ball? Still refering to the original Op of B1 hitting A1s hand while in contact with the ball, the ball going OOB, touching nothing else but the floor. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 02:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splute
Let me see if I understand you. You are going to award B1 the ball for slapping A1s hand, resulting in the ball going OOBs? So if B1 had only hit the ball and not the hand, then its out on B1? Therefore you do not agree that the "hand" on the ball, is the same as the ball? That being said, you must call a foul each time the player, while shooting, gets their "hand" hit while in contact with the ball... correct?
What you are seeing is the literal wording of the rules vs the real world.

The natural way to read 10-6-2 is to take it as the hand is part of the ball, unfortunately it isn't literally written that way...so officials are in a dilema...call it literally or call it fair.

Which is why you can read some of the responses like I don't see well enough to see only hand on hand, or it's impossible for B1 to just hit the hand and no ball.

So book ref it and give the ball to B or real world it and give it back to A.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 124
4-24
Art. 2... It is legal use of hands to reach to block or slap the ball controlled by a dribbler or a player throwing for goal or a player holding it and accidentally hitting the hand of the opponent when it is in contact with the ball.

10-6
Art. 2... A player shall not contact an opponent with his/her hand unless such contact is only with the opponent's hand while it is on the ball and is incidental to any attempt to play the ball.

If B1's contact with A1's hand (while it is in contact with the ball) is accidental and during a legit shot to play the ball then by rule it is out of bounds on A.

7-2-1 ... The ball is caused to go out of bounds by the last player in bounds to touch it or be touched by it...

However, if B1 contacts A1's hand intentionally to cause the ball to go out of bounds then you have a personal foul, do you not?
__________________
Are there rocks ahead? If there are, we all be dead!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 02:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by blindzebra
What you are seeing is the literal wording of the rules vs the real world.

The natural way to read 10-6-2 is to take it as the hand is part of the ball, unfortunately it isn't literally written that way...so officials are in a dilema...call it literally or call it fair.

Which is why you can read some of the responses like I don't see well enough to see only hand on hand, or it's impossible for B1 to just hit the hand and no ball.

So book ref it and give the ball to B or real world it and give it back to A.
Interesting, my thought process has always been that the contact by B1 caused the ball to go OOB, as if he hit ONLY the ball. Thus I would give it back to A1. Just as I deem contact by B1 on the hand of shooter A1 a legal play and play continues from resulting actions. Any chance there is a Sit on this particular instance?? I will look thru the books tonight. Thanks for the interps.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whatcha think? WhistlesAndStripes Basketball 8 Wed Mar 01, 2006 10:57am
Whatcha Got? ranjo Basketball 33 Sat Dec 04, 2004 09:13am
Called third strike if hits your hand? trichards Softball 2 Fri May 28, 2004 12:17pm
check swing, ball hits batter in hand, goes fair... sleebo Baseball 26 Mon Apr 19, 2004 08:19pm
batter hits ball after hits ground kfinucan Softball 13 Sun Jun 29, 2003 09:29pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1