The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 08:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Go check the SPECIFIC words used in the text and you'll see.
Is your issue that I said "the backcourt" instead of "his/her backcourt"? Otherwise, I have no idea what you're talking about.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 09:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Nope, my issue is A2.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 09:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Nope, my issue is A2.
OK, then, I have no idea what you're talking about.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 09:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
We both agree that 9-9-1 doesn't apply to your scenario since that requires a touch in the frontcourt. Therefore, if the play is to be a violation it must be due to 9-9-2.

Here's the text of 9-9-2: "While in team control in its backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, and be the first to touch it in the backcourt."

The words "or a teammate" do not appear in that article as they do in the first one.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 09:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
We both agree that 9-9-1 doesn't apply to your scenario since that requires a touch in the frontcourt. Therefore, if the play is to be a violation it must be due to 9-9-2.

Here's the text of 9-9-2: "While in team control in its backcourt, a player shall not cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, and be the first to touch it in the backcourt."

The words "or a teammate" do not appear in that article as they do in the first one.
Ah. I forgot that NFHS wording on the backcourt rule was different from NCAA.

I should have a tag-line that says that all of my posts are based on NCAA rules, which is what we use here in NY for girls HS ball.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 09:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
I don't know if the NFHS intends for your play to be a violation or not, but I do know that by the specific wording of the rule it is not. If the NFHS wishes to correct that, then they need to change the wording of the rule to something such as ""When a player, while in team control in his/her backcourt, causes the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, he/she or a teammate shall not be the first to touch it."

See the difference?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 06, 2007, 11:03am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I don't know if the NFHS intends for your play to be a violation or not, but I do know that by the specific wording of the rule it is not. If the NFHS wishes to correct that, then they need to change the wording of the rule to something such as ""When a player, while in team control in his/her backcourt, causes the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, he/she or a teammate shall not be the first to touch it."
Or maybe instead of changing the rule, they can issue a case book play explaining the rule.

Wait, they've already done that. It's called casebook play 4.4.4(b). That states "It is a violation for A1 to cause the ball to go from A's backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt untouched if A1 or a teammate is the first to touch it after it has returned to backcourt." Rule 9-9-2 is cited as the rules reference.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Over and Back? curtstrouth Basketball 16 Fri Nov 23, 2007 09:41am
Over and back? howie719 Basketball 9 Mon Feb 12, 2007 02:39pm
Back or Not? Blue37 Football 6 Fri Sep 15, 2006 02:48pm
Over and Back ZEBRA Basketball 2 Sun Jan 19, 2003 04:40am
Over and Back 12dozen Basketball 8 Wed Jan 15, 2003 07:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1