The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 446
Had the contact been made prior to the first foot hitting the ground, we have a block, correct?
__________________
I know God would never give me more than I could handle, I just wish he wouldn't trust me so much.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 11:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmp44
Had the contact been made prior to the first foot hitting the ground, we have a block, correct?
If, as in the OP the defender didn't obtain that position until after A2 left the ground, then yes it would be a block in your scenario.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,910
Great description in the OP by the way. These are hard plays to describe in print. Nicely done.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 486
So I am reading that when control of the ball established here is the key for the criteria to make this a PC and not a block...

Had the offensive player not gained control of the balland the defender slid under him while in the air, we have a block.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 12:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
So I am reading that when control of the ball established here is the key for the criteria to make this a PC and not a block...

Had the offensive player not gained control of the balland the defender slid under him while in the air, we have a block.
Control of the ball AND the fact that A2 had returned to the ground prior to contact.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 12:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018
Control of the ball AND the fact that A2 had returned to the ground prior to contact.
I just read my post and obviously to have PC you have to have the ball! STUPID REF!

So...I then make this commentary...b/c I think I am seeing this play correctly and adding to it for those playing at home...

If B2 obtains the space on the floor while A2 is in the air (regardless of ball control)..B2 has to give room to A2 to come down, correct....othewise he is basically undercutting him..causing this to be a block.

If A2 was in the air and misses the entry pass and the ball sails over his head, B2 obtained his spot, A2 lands with one foot then crashes into B2, we have a push on A2. UNLESS the entry pass was caught by A5 before the crash occured, then we have a team control foul?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
If B2 obtains the space on the floor while A2 is in the air (regardless of ball control)..B2 has to give room to A2 to come down, correct....othewise he is basically undercutting him..causing this to be a block.
Correct, B2 has to give A2 the opportunity to come down. The difference in the OP is whether A2 has control - if he does, B2 doesn't have to give any more space than enough to come down. If A2 doesn't have PC, then B2 must also give enough time and distance for A2 to come to a stop, which could be up to 2 steps.

Quote:
If A2 was in the air and misses the entry pass and the ball sails over his head, B2 obtained his spot, A2 lands with one foot then crashes into B2, we have a push on A2. UNLESS the entry pass was caught by A5 before the crash occured, then we have a team control foul?[/
We don't know if we have a push on A2. It depends on your judgement whether A2 had time and distance to come under control before contacting B2.

If you determine the foul is on A2 for pushing, it is a team control foul in either scenario, as team control continues during a pass.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Block/charge phansen Basketball 30 Sun Jan 28, 2007 06:08pm
LSU/UT Block/Charge eyezen Basketball 7 Mon Dec 11, 2006 04:42pm
Block/Charge harmbu Basketball 12 Thu Feb 19, 2004 09:05pm
Block - Charge (consider this) footlocker Basketball 35 Thu Feb 12, 2004 03:10pm
Block or Charge? canuckrefguy Basketball 18 Fri Jan 31, 2003 10:37am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1