The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Charge/Block contact (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/40049-charge-block-contact.html)

Ref in PA Mon Dec 03, 2007 09:19am

Charge/Block contact
 
I am pretty sure I got this right, but want to know your opinion.

A1 has the ball on the wing about foul line extended. A2 is at the top of the key and breaks toward the basket, moving around a screen set by A3. The entry pass to A2 is high and A2 leaps high in the air and secures the ball. B4, seeing the play, sets up in the path of A2 around the second lane position (out from underneath the basket). A2 lands on one foot and continues toward the basket taking a step with the other foot (although not a hugh step). With the second step, A2 contacts B4, knocking B4 to the floor. This was a bang-bang play and B4 did not establish position until A2 was in the air.

Because A2 had control of the ball, I called a charging foul on A2. However, if A2 were just cutting to the basket without the ball, I probably could have called a block on B4 because I did not think A2 would have had time and distance to react (due to the timing of B4 establishing position in the path of A2).

If I did get this right, I thank the board for previous threads that have helped me understand this play. I remember comments and a youtube video.

JugglingReferee Mon Dec 03, 2007 09:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ref in PA
I am pretty sure I got this right, but want to know your opinion.

A1 has the ball on the wing about foul line extended. A2 is at the top of the key and breaks toward the basket, moving around a screen set by A3. The entry pass to A2 is high and A2 leaps high in the air and secures the ball. B4, seeing the play, sets up in the path of A2 around the second lane position (out from underneath the basket). A2 lands on one foot and continues toward the basket taking a step with the other foot (although not a hugh step). With the second step, A2 contacts B4, knocking B4 to the floor. This was a bang-bang play and B4 did not establish position until A2 was in the air.

Because A2 had control of the ball, I called a charging foul on A2. However, if A2 were just cutting to the basket without the ball, I probably could have called a block on B4 because I did not think A2 would have had time and distance to react (due to the timing of B4 establishing position in the path of A2).

If I did get this right, I thank the board for previous threads that have helped me understand this play. I remember comments and a youtube video.

You got the call correct. When A2 secured control of the ball, the restriction for "time and distance" is removed.

Player control foul on A2.

If A2 never did obtain control, then the time and distance factor is obviously a judgment call.

Jurassic Referee Mon Dec 03, 2007 09:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ref in PA
I am pretty sure I got this right, but want to know your opinion.

A1 has the ball on the wing about foul line extended. A2 is at the top of the key and breaks toward the basket, moving around a screen set by A3. The entry pass to A2 is high and A2 leaps high in the air and secures the ball. B4, seeing the play, sets up in the path of A2 around the second lane position (out from underneath the basket). A2 lands on one foot and continues toward the basket taking a step with the other foot (although not a hugh step). With the second step, A2 contacts B4, knocking B4 to the floor. This was a bang-bang play and B4 did not establish position until A2 was in the air.

Because A2 had control of the ball, I called a charging foul on A2.

You nailed it. Case book play 10.6.1SitA(b) is the exact play. The second step by A2 after landing is irrelevant to the call.

tmp44 Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:30am

Had the contact been made prior to the first foot hitting the ground, we have a block, correct?

jdw3018 Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tmp44
Had the contact been made prior to the first foot hitting the ground, we have a block, correct?

If, as in the OP the defender didn't obtain that position until after A2 left the ground, then yes it would be a block in your scenario.

Junker Mon Dec 03, 2007 11:46am

Great description in the OP by the way. These are hard plays to describe in print. Nicely done.

Coltdoggs Mon Dec 03, 2007 12:14pm

So I am reading that when control of the ball established here is the key for the criteria to make this a PC and not a block...

Had the offensive player not gained control of the balland the defender slid under him while in the air, we have a block.

jdw3018 Mon Dec 03, 2007 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
So I am reading that when control of the ball established here is the key for the criteria to make this a PC and not a block...

Had the offensive player not gained control of the balland the defender slid under him while in the air, we have a block.

Control of the ball AND the fact that A2 had returned to the ground prior to contact.

Coltdoggs Mon Dec 03, 2007 12:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018
Control of the ball AND the fact that A2 had returned to the ground prior to contact.

I just read my post and obviously to have PC you have to have the ball! :rolleyes: STUPID REF! :D

So...I then make this commentary...b/c I think I am seeing this play correctly and adding to it for those playing at home...

If B2 obtains the space on the floor while A2 is in the air (regardless of ball control)..B2 has to give room to A2 to come down, correct....othewise he is basically undercutting him..causing this to be a block.

If A2 was in the air and misses the entry pass and the ball sails over his head, B2 obtained his spot, A2 lands with one foot then crashes into B2, we have a push on A2. UNLESS the entry pass was caught by A5 before the crash occured, then we have a team control foul?

Camron Rust Mon Dec 03, 2007 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
You got the call correct. When A2 secured control of the ball, the restriction for "time and distance" is removed.

Player control foul on A2.

If A2 never did obtain control, then the time and distance factor is obviously a judgment call.

But he told us that A2 did get two steps down...which is enough...the rules say that the distance required is never more than two steps.

jdw3018 Mon Dec 03, 2007 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Coltdoggs
If B2 obtains the space on the floor while A2 is in the air (regardless of ball control)..B2 has to give room to A2 to come down, correct....othewise he is basically undercutting him..causing this to be a block.

Correct, B2 has to give A2 the opportunity to come down. The difference in the OP is whether A2 has control - if he does, B2 doesn't have to give any more space than enough to come down. If A2 doesn't have PC, then B2 must also give enough time and distance for A2 to come to a stop, which could be up to 2 steps.

Quote:

If A2 was in the air and misses the entry pass and the ball sails over his head, B2 obtained his spot, A2 lands with one foot then crashes into B2, we have a push on A2. UNLESS the entry pass was caught by A5 before the crash occured, then we have a team control foul?[/
We don't know if we have a push on A2. It depends on your judgement whether A2 had time and distance to come under control before contacting B2.

If you determine the foul is on A2 for pushing, it is a team control foul in either scenario, as team control continues during a pass.

JugglingReferee Mon Dec 03, 2007 02:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust
But he told us that A2 did get two steps down...which is enough...the rules say that the distance required is never more than two steps.

Good for him then. He still had to judge that two steps were taken.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1