The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Beaver, PA
Posts: 481
Charge/Block contact

I am pretty sure I got this right, but want to know your opinion.

A1 has the ball on the wing about foul line extended. A2 is at the top of the key and breaks toward the basket, moving around a screen set by A3. The entry pass to A2 is high and A2 leaps high in the air and secures the ball. B4, seeing the play, sets up in the path of A2 around the second lane position (out from underneath the basket). A2 lands on one foot and continues toward the basket taking a step with the other foot (although not a hugh step). With the second step, A2 contacts B4, knocking B4 to the floor. This was a bang-bang play and B4 did not establish position until A2 was in the air.

Because A2 had control of the ball, I called a charging foul on A2. However, if A2 were just cutting to the basket without the ball, I probably could have called a block on B4 because I did not think A2 would have had time and distance to react (due to the timing of B4 establishing position in the path of A2).

If I did get this right, I thank the board for previous threads that have helped me understand this play. I remember comments and a youtube video.
__________________
I only wanna know ...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 09:24am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref in PA
I am pretty sure I got this right, but want to know your opinion.

A1 has the ball on the wing about foul line extended. A2 is at the top of the key and breaks toward the basket, moving around a screen set by A3. The entry pass to A2 is high and A2 leaps high in the air and secures the ball. B4, seeing the play, sets up in the path of A2 around the second lane position (out from underneath the basket). A2 lands on one foot and continues toward the basket taking a step with the other foot (although not a hugh step). With the second step, A2 contacts B4, knocking B4 to the floor. This was a bang-bang play and B4 did not establish position until A2 was in the air.

Because A2 had control of the ball, I called a charging foul on A2. However, if A2 were just cutting to the basket without the ball, I probably could have called a block on B4 because I did not think A2 would have had time and distance to react (due to the timing of B4 establishing position in the path of A2).

If I did get this right, I thank the board for previous threads that have helped me understand this play. I remember comments and a youtube video.
You got the call correct. When A2 secured control of the ball, the restriction for "time and distance" is removed.

Player control foul on A2.

If A2 never did obtain control, then the time and distance factor is obviously a judgment call.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 12:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by JugglingReferee
You got the call correct. When A2 secured control of the ball, the restriction for "time and distance" is removed.

Player control foul on A2.

If A2 never did obtain control, then the time and distance factor is obviously a judgment call.
But he told us that A2 did get two steps down...which is enough...the rules say that the distance required is never more than two steps.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 02:17pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
But he told us that A2 did get two steps down...which is enough...the rules say that the distance required is never more than two steps.
Good for him then. He still had to judge that two steps were taken.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 09:40am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ref in PA
I am pretty sure I got this right, but want to know your opinion.

A1 has the ball on the wing about foul line extended. A2 is at the top of the key and breaks toward the basket, moving around a screen set by A3. The entry pass to A2 is high and A2 leaps high in the air and secures the ball. B4, seeing the play, sets up in the path of A2 around the second lane position (out from underneath the basket). A2 lands on one foot and continues toward the basket taking a step with the other foot (although not a hugh step). With the second step, A2 contacts B4, knocking B4 to the floor. This was a bang-bang play and B4 did not establish position until A2 was in the air.

Because A2 had control of the ball, I called a charging foul on A2.
You nailed it. Case book play 10.6.1SitA(b) is the exact play. The second step by A2 after landing is irrelevant to the call.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 11:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: PA
Posts: 446
Had the contact been made prior to the first foot hitting the ground, we have a block, correct?
__________________
I know God would never give me more than I could handle, I just wish he wouldn't trust me so much.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 11:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmp44
Had the contact been made prior to the first foot hitting the ground, we have a block, correct?
If, as in the OP the defender didn't obtain that position until after A2 left the ground, then yes it would be a block in your scenario.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 11:46am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,910
Great description in the OP by the way. These are hard plays to describe in print. Nicely done.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 03, 2007, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fishers, IN
Posts: 486
So I am reading that when control of the ball established here is the key for the criteria to make this a PC and not a block...

Had the offensive player not gained control of the balland the defender slid under him while in the air, we have a block.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Block/charge phansen Basketball 30 Sun Jan 28, 2007 06:08pm
LSU/UT Block/Charge eyezen Basketball 7 Mon Dec 11, 2006 04:42pm
Block/Charge harmbu Basketball 12 Thu Feb 19, 2004 09:05pm
Block - Charge (consider this) footlocker Basketball 35 Thu Feb 12, 2004 03:10pm
Block or Charge? canuckrefguy Basketball 18 Fri Jan 31, 2003 10:37am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1