The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 29, 2007, 03:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
It might be more of a case of you not understanding the interpretation. The interpretation does not ignore rule 9-9-3. The interpretation is telling you that rule 9-9-3 is NOT applicable because 9-9-3 is an exception that only applies during a throw-in. They are simply telling you that 9-9-3 does not apply after a throw-in has ended.

The key "funny" words are "during a throw-in".
Given that, imagine this play...


A1's throwing ball in. A2, in A's frontcourt, jumps to catch the ball but muff's it (throwin ends). Before landing, A2 is able to secure control of the ball. A2 lands in the backcourt. Violation?
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 29, 2007, 03:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 197
Send a message via Yahoo to joseph2493
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Given that, imagine this play...


A1's throwing ball in. A2, in A's frontcourt, jumps to catch the ball but muff's it (throwin ends). Before landing, A2 is able to secure control of the ball. A2 lands in the backcourt. Violation?
I would say no. This time because he has the protection of 9-9-3 as the player making the initial touch on the ball.
__________________
You can do what you want to do and be what you want to be but you can't be afraid to pay the price!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 30, 2007, 02:06am
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Given that, imagine this play...


A1's throwing ball in. A2, in A's frontcourt, jumps to catch the ball but muff's it (throwin ends). Before landing, A2 is able to secure control of the ball. A2 lands in the backcourt. Violation?
Yes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by 9.9.1.D
The exception granted during a throw-in ends when the throw-in ends and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball.

Last edited by HawkeyeCubP; Fri Nov 30, 2007 at 02:26am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 30, 2007, 06:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Given that, imagine this play...
A1's throwing ball in. A2, in A's frontcourt, jumps to catch the ball but muff's it (throwin ends). Before landing, A2 is able to secure control of the ball. A2 lands in the backcourt. Violation?
Great question, Camron!!!

Can see the merit for ruling either way. I don't believe that the NFHS envisioned this when writing about the throw-in ending and when the exception ends.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 30, 2007, 04:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 22
backcourt violation

I got this from the preseason guide 2007-08 Basketball NFHS referee.

Tittle Accepting the backcourt exceptions. play #5
As seen in the Playpic on page 11, Team A's player makes the throw-in to a teammate (in that case number 10) (witch is in the frontcourt). That player muffs the ball and it goes into the backcourt where it recovered by that player (A2) RULING: it is a legal play. NO CONTROL had been established by team A even though the player touched the ball in the frontcourt. No player or team control exists during a throw-in.

So I think is not a backcourt violation. cuz there wasn't team control yet.



Rey
__________________
__________________________________
Go and Ref, Do the best you can, have fun at the game to keep you sane.!!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 30, 2007, 10:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by RUBIERA
I got this from the preseason guide 2007-08 Basketball NFHS referee.

Tittle Accepting the backcourt exceptions. play #5
As seen in the Playpic on page 11, Team A's player makes the throw-in to a teammate (in that case number 10) (witch is in the frontcourt). That player muffs the ball and it goes into the backcourt where it recovered by that player (A2) RULING: it is a legal play. NO CONTROL had been established by team A even though the player touched the ball in the frontcourt. No player or team control exists during a throw-in.

So I think is not a backcourt violation. cuz there wasn't team control yet.



Rey
I don't know what you are refering to when you say "is not a backcourt violation." If you mean the play in the pre-season guide, yiou are correct, and you have the correct reasoning. If you mean the OP in this thread, you are incorrect -- TC was established when A2 caught the ball.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 01, 2007, 01:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I don't know what you are refering to when you say "is not a backcourt violation." If you mean the play in the pre-season guide, yiou are correct, and you have the correct reasoning. If you mean the OP in this thread, you are incorrect -- TC was established when A2 caught the ball.
I believe he's talking about CR's play where B doesn't end the throw-in, but A2 does on the muff, and than catches it while still airborne.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Beyond the Case Book tcannizzo Softball 4 Mon May 08, 2006 03:11pm
Case Book Question Rev.Ref63 Basketball 16 Sat Feb 18, 2006 12:24pm
Case book question John Schaefferkoetter Basketball 4 Fri Dec 19, 2003 10:38pm
Case Book 10.3.6 APHP Basketball 3 Fri Oct 31, 2003 11:43pm
Case book 4.19.8 B Danvrapp Basketball 6 Mon Jan 14, 2002 04:26pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1