The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2002, 01:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 360
Send a message via AIM to Danvrapp
Case book 4.19.8 B reads: "B1 holds A1, whose team is in the bonus. A1 is successful in both free-throw attempts. While B1 is making the throw-in from behind the end line, A1 pushes B2." I'm concerned when Team B IS NOT in the bonus.

The Ruling states: "...If Team B is not in the bonus, it is awarded the ball for a throw-in from a designated spot OOB nearest to where the foul occurred.

Is this right? I thought the new rule this year entitled B to continue to be able to run the end line in this situation. Am I missing something....? Is something different here because B1 had just held A1? Does the word "While" in the explaination have anything to do with anything? Does this mean the ball is already in the air when A1 is called for the push?

Rule(s) 7.5.7 and 7.4.3 may be good rules to reference here.
__________________
Dan R.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2002, 02:15pm
Jerry Blum
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Rule Change.

I believe this would be under the new rule change(NFHS) and B would be given the ball and also able to run the baseline if that is where the ball should be inbounded(spot nearest where the foul occured).

This is assuming that I am correct in that the throw-in would not end until it has touched a player in bounds.

*I don't have my rule book with me so if I am mistaken someone please correct me.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2002, 02:24pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by Danvrapp
Case book 4.19.8 B reads: "B1 holds A1, whose team is in the bonus. A1 is successful in both free-throw attempts. While B1 is making the throw-in from behind the end line, A1 pushes B2." I'm concerned when Team B IS NOT in the bonus.

The Ruling states: "...If Team B is not in the bonus, it is awarded the ball for a throw-in from a designated spot OOB nearest to where the foul occurred.

Is this right? I thought the new rule this year entitled B to continue to be able to run the end line in this situation. Am I missing something....? Is something different here because B1 had just held A1? Does the word "While" in the explaination have anything to do with anything? Does this mean the ball is already in the air when A1 is called for the push?

Rule(s) 7.5.7 and 7.4.3 may be good rules to reference here.
Danvrapp,

See Case *7.5.7 Situation B (p.53).

The Rule folks, and I, must consider it not much of a disadvantage for the Thrower to inbound the ball near the division line or beyond. It is considered "a wash".

mick




Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2002, 03:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 54
I agree with mick. If A1 fouls B2 near B2's baseline, the ball is going to be brought in under B2's basket. It is at the spot closest to the foul. However, if the foul happens to occur where the ball will be brought on the baseline where the throw in was occurring after the made basket, then B would still have the opportunity to run the baseline.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2002, 03:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
Dan, the case play does not specify where the foul occurs.

If the nearest spot is the baseline, then B would be allowed to run the endline.

If the nearest spot is not the endline, but the sideline, it's a designated spot throw-in.

__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2002, 04:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 116
Maybe I missed something, but B maintain's their right to run the line if a foul against B is committed. If team B is not in the bonus, they have a spot throw in. If A1 fouls B1, they don't gain the right to run the line.

Did I miss something?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2002, 04:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 360
Send a message via AIM to Danvrapp
Rookie - See Mick's response above and review the two rules he sites. I think you'll understand then. If the foul occurs in B's frontcourt, they lose their right to run; however, they're now significantly closer to their own basket--not necessarily a disadvantage
__________________
Dan R.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1