The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 02:21pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question

Side inserts or trim on the team jerseys centered vertically below the armpit may not exceed four inches in width. T or F

3-4-11 says Side inserts, including trim...

Does or trim make the statement false or am I thinking too much?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 02:23pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,182
You are thinking too much. Officials worth their salt do not give a damn.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 02:24pm
M.A.S.H.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,030
Thinking too much...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 02:27pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
My goal is not to be the fashion police, but it is to score 100%. So you're saying the answer is "T"?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 02:35pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
My goal is not to be the fashion police, but it is to score 100%. So you're saying the answer is "T"?
Rut's just saying he doesn't know.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 02:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,066
True
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 02:38pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Rut's just saying he doesn't know.
I am saying I do not care. Knowing this rule is not going to help me in a real game. All I need to know is an illegal jersey is a T for each player. But if you do not worry about it or go looking for it, you cannot possibly call a T now can you?

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 02:42pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indianaref
True
Alrighty then, I'm going to hold you to that.

It's just amazing how words on the test (or, including, other than, except for) can slightly vary from the rule books wording to make an easy answer wrong.

Thanks all!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 02:46pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
I am saying I do not care. Knowing this rule is not going to help me in a real game. All I need to know is an illegal jersey is a T for each player. But if you do not worry about it or go looking for it, you cannot possibly call a T now can you?

Peace
I hear you JRut! The 14 questions on uniforms (out of 100) isn't going to help/hurt the way I call a game but I just needed to answer it correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 02:49pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
I hear you JRut! The 14 questions on uniforms (out of 100) isn't going to help/hurt the way I call a game but I just needed to answer it correctly.
I am saying I do not care. Knowing this rule is not going to help me in a real game. All I need to know is an illegal jersey is a T for each player. But if you do not worry about it or go looking for it, you cannot possibly call a T now can you? This is why there were the smiley faces. I knew you wanted an answer; I just wanted to bring a little light to the conversation. People take things too seriously around here.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 02:55pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,756
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ch1town
Side inserts or trim on the team jerseys centered vertically below the armpit may not exceed four inches in width. T or F

3-4-11 says Side inserts, including trim...

Does or trim make the statement false or am I thinking too much?
The test question is the same as combining the following two questions:

If the side insert (alone) is > 4", would the uniform be illegal?

If the trim (alone) is > 4", would the uniform be illegal?

If you can answer the above based on the rule, you can answer the test question.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 02:56pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Gotcha I didn't notice the smiley for being in test mode (while on the clock) but as soon as I score 100% here's my thoughts on this:


I am saying I do not care. Knowing this rule is not going to help me in a real game. All I need to know is an illegal jersey is a T for each player. But if you do not worry about it or go looking for it, you cannot possibly call a T now can you?


Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 02:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge
I am saying I do not care. Knowing this rule is not going to help me in a real game. All I need to know is an illegal jersey is a T for each player. But if you do not worry about it or go looking for it, you cannot possibly call a T now can you? This is why there were the smiley faces. I knew you wanted an answer; I just wanted to bring a little light to the conversation. People take things too seriously around here.

Peace
Surely you are joking...
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 03:04pm
Ch1town
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
The test question is the same as combining the following two questions:

If the side insert (alone) is > 4", would the uniform be illegal?

If the trim (alone) is > 4", would the uniform be illegal?

If you can answer the above based on the rule, you can answer the test question.

Dangit Bob, I thought Indianaref had it figured out already. Now you're confusing me again as the rulebooks only reference to trim is 3-4-12 which has nothing to do with side inserts.

I'm going with T, unless it's F????
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 05, 2007, 03:31pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,439
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Surely you are joking...
I'm not joking. And don't call me Shirley.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A question on a play and a mechanics question. aevans410 Baseball 11 Mon May 12, 2008 09:23am
two questions - start of half question and free throw question hoopguy Basketball 6 Wed Mar 28, 2007 11:12pm
Rule Question and Mechanics Question Stair-Climber Softball 15 Fri May 06, 2005 06:44am
Over the back Question? Sorry mistyped my first question CoaachJF Basketball 15 Thu Feb 27, 2003 03:18pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:57am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1