The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 02, 2007, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Exactly. Also; restrictions on the thrower end with the release; except for the fact that the thrower cannot be first to touch the ball after she releases the pass onto the court.
I agree with the throw-in violations but came about it in a different manner...I guess you'll tell me if this wasn't logical.

I asked myself if the clock would have ever started...If the answer is no then you have to go back to original inbound spot because you never had a legal throw-in. If the answer is yes then you felt that the throw in was "legal" and that the ball went OOB where A2 recieved it. My logic, however warped you think it may seem gave me only one conclusion, throw-in violation.

I know that might seem like a different way to conclude the ruling, but I think it makes sense, doesn't it?
__________________
Do you really think it matters, Eddy?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 02, 2007, 09:26am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by RushmoreRef
I agree with the throw-in violations but came about it in a different manner...I guess you'll tell me if this wasn't logical.

I asked myself if the clock would have ever started...If the answer is no then you have to go back to original inbound spot because you never had a legal throw-in. If the answer is yes then you felt that the throw in was "legal" and that the ball went OOB where A2 recieved it. My logic, however warped you think it may seem gave me only one conclusion, throw-in violation.

I know that might seem like a different way to conclude the ruling, but I think it makes sense, doesn't it?
I think it works for this scenario, but it wouldn't work for all.
Example: A1 throws the ball towards A2 on a spot throwin. A2's first touch is an intentional kick (for whatever reason). The clock never starts here, but the violation puts the ball nearest A2's kick, not at the original spot.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 02, 2007, 09:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 127
I agree and was only using it toward this situation....just stating that, in this case, the question can be answered with relative ease by just using common sense judgement...If that makes any sense.
__________________
Do you really think it matters, Eddy?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Throw in violation lucky1313 Basketball 3 Thu Mar 09, 2006 09:50am
Throw-In Violation Jurassic Referee Basketball 49 Mon Dec 12, 2005 11:49am
Throw in violation Rita C Basketball 13 Wed Feb 09, 2005 11:51am
Throw-in violation? illbball Basketball 3 Mon Feb 07, 2005 07:18pm
Throw In Violation?? Rock'nRef Basketball 3 Thu Nov 21, 2002 09:24am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1