The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 21, 2007, 06:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamKip
Why do you say #2 & #5 are spot where A2 touched the ball? Do you have a rule/case reference?

Iamkip
You might want to make sure you have this year's rule book.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 21, 2007, 06:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
You might want to make sure you have this year's rule book.
And this year's interps -- especially number 3.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 21, 2007, 07:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
My question would be, why is a ref standing with both feet out of bounds?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 21, 2007, 07:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
In some cases it is the best place to be.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
My question would be, why is a ref standing with both feet out of bounds?
so if hit the ball is out of bounds...
__________________
IamKIP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 21, 2007, 07:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
My question would be, why is a ref standing with both feet out of bounds?
If this is 3-man, the Center official may be helping on the press.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 21, 2007, 07:28pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
If this is 3-man, the Center official may be helping on the press.
Yup, or it could be the administering official.

But, I only know a couple of refs who couldn't move out of the way of a pass from the other side of the court.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 21, 2007, 09:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by rainmaker
My question would be, why is a ref standing with both feet out of bounds?
You stand on the court as the lead?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 21, 2007, 10:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snake~eyes
You stand on the court as the lead?
Hhmmm, good point. I was figuring that lead wasn't ref, since it was an endline throw-in.

And I was thinking 2-person, not 3, so I like the answer about C. I just don't think in terms of C.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 21, 2007, 07:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 34
#2 incorrect

Per rule 9-2-11 & 9-2-12, throw in violation and ball is put back in play at original spot with throw in by B1. .. Not on the midcourt sideline...

The other by rule are correct

Iamkip
__________________
IamKIP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 21, 2007, 07:27pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by IamKip
Per rule 9-2-11 & 9-2-12, throw in violation and ball is put back in play at original spot with throw in by B1. .. Not on the midcourt sideline...

The other by rule are correct

Iamkip
You're looking at last year's rule book.
There is no 9-2-12 this year. And 9-2-11 says a teammate of the thrower may not "be" out of bounds. If you don't catch this violation until the ball is caught by A2, you call the 9-3-2 violation and give the ball to B1 roughly where A2 was standing when he caught the ball.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 05:19pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
You're looking at last year's rule book.
There is no 9-2-12 this year. And 9-2-11 says a teammate of the thrower may not "be" out of bounds. If you don't catch this violation until the ball is caught by A2, you call the 9-3-2 violation and give the ball to B1 roughly where A2 was standing when he caught the ball.
I remember that discussion from last year -- Is this different from NCAA then/now? For instance, (NCAA):

Thrower-in, A1, has the ball for a throw-in on the end line. A1 passes the ball to A3 who is standing on the sideline near midcourt when she receives the pass. The officials shall:
A. Call an out-of-bounds violation on A3 and put the ball in play on the end line.
B. Call an out-of-bounds violation on A3 and put the ball in play on the sideline near midcourt.
C. Call a back court violation and put the ball in play on the end line.
D. Call a violation on A1 for failing to complete the throw-in and put the ball in play on the end line. (9-5-1b)
E. None of the above.

My answer, for now, is bolded.

Last edited by HawkeyeCubP; Tue Oct 23, 2007 at 05:22pm.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 05:50pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
that was correct for NFHS last year. I have no idea about NCAA.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 07:29pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Thrower-in, A1, has the ball for a throw-in on the end line. A1 passes the ball to A3 who is standing on the sideline near midcourt when she receives the pass. The officials shall:

B. Call an out-of-bounds violation on A3 and put the ball in play on the sideline near midcourt.
NCAA and NFHS now are the same. The thrower-in's responsibility is to throw the ball directly onto the playing court so that it touches someone inbounds or out of bounds. If the first person to touch the throw-in pass is out of bounds, then that person has committed the violation and the ball is put in play at the spot of the violation.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 23, 2007, 07:51pm
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
NCAA and NFHS now are the same. The thrower-in's responsibility is to throw the ball directly onto the playing court so that it touches someone inbounds or out of bounds. If the first person to touch the throw-in pass is out of bounds, then that person has committed the violation and the ball is put in play at the spot of the violation.
Thanks Scrapper. That's what I figured, but I can't find the reference (similar to the NFHS version) that spells that out. Can you point it out to me?
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 21, 2007, 10:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
SInce you missed it the first time, I'll post it again.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IamKip
Per rule 9-2-11 & 9-2-12, throw in violation and ball is put back in play at original spot with throw in by B1. .. Not on the midcourt sideline...
You might want to make sure you have this year's rule book.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Designated spot throw-in? johnnyrao Basketball 2 Tue Nov 14, 2006 01:32pm
Designated Throw-In Spot 7-6-2 PConley Basketball 2 Thu Jan 22, 2004 12:26pm
Designated Throw-in spot. Jerry Blum Basketball 6 Fri Oct 25, 2002 10:37am
Designated spot throw ins Art N Basketball 14 Tue Jan 16, 2001 08:29am
Designated Spot Throw-in Fox40 Basketball 4 Sun Oct 24, 1999 07:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1