The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2007, 02:33am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 31
Improper Whistle

A1's legal throw-in is bounding untouched in team A's backcourt. An official improperly whistles a timeout for team B. Is that timeout request granted?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2007, 04:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
5.8.3 SITUATION E: The official erroneously grants Team B a time-out in a situation when Team B cannot have one. What happens now? RULING: Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was granted. The time-out once granted cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams.



PS The game is resumed with a Team A throw-in from where A1 threw the ball as that is the POI.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2007, 07:24am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
PS The game is resumed with a Team A throw-in from where A1 threw the ball as that is the POI.
If the ball is bouncing on the court, then isn't that where the ball is located and not where it was thrown from?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2007, 07:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
Wow..interesting situation. The whistle blows while neither team has team control.

If a shot is in the air, and the whistle blows inadvertantly, if the shot is missed, you go to AP, because neither team has control after a try on goal.

Why not go to the arrow here???

Personally, I'd give it back to A, but what's my rule justification?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2007, 07:58am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,191
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankHtown
Wow..interesting situation. The whistle blows while neither team has team control.

If a shot is in the air, and the whistle blows inadvertantly, if the shot is missed, you go to AP, because neither team has control after a try on goal.

Why not go to the arrow here???

Personally, I'd give it back to A, but what's my rule justification?
Because 4-36-2b(POI) says to resume with the throw-in if the accidental whistle occurred during this activity.

Note that only 4-36-2a and 4-36-2c indicate that the spot of the throw-in is the ball location (in "a" it's explicit; in "c" you have to follow the links to 6-4-3)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2007, 08:06am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrankHtown
Why not go to the arrow here???

Personally, I'd give it back to A, but what's my rule justification?
4-36-2b: Play is resumed at the point of interruption which is "A free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such."
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2007, 07:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 600
but if it was never touched then the throw in never ended, therefore i would agree you would put it back at the original throw in spot for A...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2007, 08:09am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbilla
but if it was never touched then the throw in never ended, therefore i would agree you would put it back at the original throw in spot for A...
4-4-3: "A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court."
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2007, 09:30am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
4-4-3: "A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court"
It was last in contact with a player at the original throw-in spot.

If you've got a throw-in in a team's backcourt( say, their endline) with a second or 2 left in a tied game, are you really going to move the ball 50 feet up the court for another throw-in because you blew an IW?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2007, 09:26am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
If the ball is bouncing on the court, then isn't that where the ball is located and not where it was thrown from?
What difference does that make?

It ain't definitively covered afaik. Rule 4-35-2(b) just says that you resume with the throw-in.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2007, 11:47am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Philadelphia Area, PA
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
5.8.3 SITUATION E: The official erroneously grants Team B a time-out in a situation when Team B cannot have one. What happens now? RULING: Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was granted. The time-out once granted cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams.



PS The game is resumed with a Team A throw-in from where A1 threw the ball as that is the POI.
Understanding what the rule/casebook states, if team B is granted this timeout and they sub in a crucial part of the game, i think you (as a referee) are creating trouble. I would think (again, knowing what the rule is) you're better off blowing your whistle again, acknowledging to both coaches that you have an IW and you made a mistake, and get the ball back in play with Throw-in by team A as soon as possible.
then again i don't believe in picking/chosing which rules to enforce. So I don't know.
The best way to avoid this is not to have an IW
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2007, 12:22pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by psujaye
Understanding what the rule/casebook states, if team B is granted this timeout and they sub in a crucial part of the game, i think you (as a referee) are creating trouble. I would think (again, knowing what the rule is) you're better off blowing your whistle again, acknowledging to both coaches that you have an IW and you made a mistake, and get the ball back in play with Throw-in by team A as soon as possible.
then again i don't believe in picking/chosing which rules to enforce. So I don't know.
The best way to avoid this is not to have an IW
The NFHS specifically doesn't want it your way, though. By rule, you have to grant the TO, allow any subs, and proceed accordingly.

NCAA, they do it your way, IMS.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2007, 03:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 944
Quote:
Originally Posted by nukewhistle
A1's legal throw-in is bounding untouched in team A's backcourt. An official improperly whistles a timeout for team B. Is that timeout request granted?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
5.8.3 SITUATION E: The official erroneously grants Team B a time-out in a situation when Team B cannot have one. What happens now? RULING: Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was granted. The time-out once granted cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams.



PS The game is resumed with a Team A throw-in from where A1 threw the ball as that is the POI.
The original post says that the official sounded the whistle for a timeout request. Does that imply that the timeout has been granted, or does the official have to notify the table before a timeout has actually been granted?

Could this be handled as an inadvertent whistle if the table hasn't been notified?
__________________
I couldn't afford a cool signature, so I just got this one.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2007, 04:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
The original post says that the official sounded the whistle for a timeout request. Does that imply that the timeout has been granted, or does the official have to notify the table before a timeout has actually been granted?

Could this be handled as an inadvertent whistle if the table hasn't been notified?

I would say the time-out request has already be recognized by the official.

No. Why would you go IAW
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Oct 11, 2007, 04:39pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by truerookie
I would say the time-out request has already be recognized by the official.

No. Why would you go IAW
It is an IW. But you still grant the TO because the ball is now dead and you have no rules basis for refusing.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Catcher's obs/improper award Bluefoot Softball 2 Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:39pm
Improper Batter JefferMC Softball 17 Wed Mar 28, 2007 10:49am
Improper Appeal - how to call it WestMichiganBlue Softball 5 Wed Mar 12, 2003 07:28pm
Improper Equipment Kentucky Basketball Football 3 Thu Sep 12, 2002 09:41pm
Improper equipment db Football 6 Thu Nov 09, 2000 01:43pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1