The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Improper Whistle (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/38786-improper-whistle.html)

nukewhistle Thu Oct 11, 2007 02:33am

Improper Whistle
 
A1's legal throw-in is bounding untouched in team A's backcourt. An official improperly whistles a timeout for team B. Is that timeout request granted?

Nevadaref Thu Oct 11, 2007 04:56am

5.8.3 SITUATION E: The official erroneously grants Team B a time-out in a situation when Team B cannot have one. What happens now? RULING: Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was granted. The time-out once granted cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams.

;)

PS The game is resumed with a Team A throw-in from where A1 threw the ball as that is the POI.

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 11, 2007 07:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref
PS The game is resumed with a Team A throw-in from where A1 threw the ball as that is the POI.

If the ball is bouncing on the court, then isn't that where the ball is located and not where it was thrown from?

FrankHtown Thu Oct 11, 2007 07:47am

Wow..interesting situation. The whistle blows while neither team has team control.

If a shot is in the air, and the whistle blows inadvertantly, if the shot is missed, you go to AP, because neither team has control after a try on goal.

Why not go to the arrow here???

Personally, I'd give it back to A, but what's my rule justification?

kbilla Thu Oct 11, 2007 07:47am

but if it was never touched then the throw in never ended, therefore i would agree you would put it back at the original throw in spot for A...

bob jenkins Thu Oct 11, 2007 07:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by FrankHtown
Wow..interesting situation. The whistle blows while neither team has team control.

If a shot is in the air, and the whistle blows inadvertantly, if the shot is missed, you go to AP, because neither team has control after a try on goal.

Why not go to the arrow here???

Personally, I'd give it back to A, but what's my rule justification?

Because 4-36-2b(POI) says to resume with the throw-in if the accidental whistle occurred during this activity.

Note that only 4-36-2a and 4-36-2c indicate that the spot of the throw-in is the ball location (in "a" it's explicit; in "c" you have to follow the links to 6-4-3)

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 11, 2007 08:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by FrankHtown
Why not go to the arrow here???

Personally, I'd give it back to A, but what's my rule justification?

4-36-2b: Play is resumed at the point of interruption which is "A free throw or a throw-in when the interruption occurred during this activity or if a team is entitled to such."

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 11, 2007 08:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kbilla
but if it was never touched then the throw in never ended, therefore i would agree you would put it back at the original throw in spot for A...

4-4-3: "A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court."

Jurassic Referee Thu Oct 11, 2007 09:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
If the ball is bouncing on the court, then isn't that where the ball is located and not where it was thrown from?

What difference does that make?:confused:

It ain't definitively covered afaik. Rule 4-35-2(b) just says that you resume with the throw-in.

Jurassic Referee Thu Oct 11, 2007 09:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
4-4-3: "A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with <font color = red>a player</font> or the court"

It was last in contact with a </b>player</b> at the original throw-in spot.

If you've got a throw-in in a team's backcourt( say, their endline) with a second or 2 left in a tied game, are you really going to move the ball 50 feet up the court for another throw-in because you blew an IW?:eek:

Scrapper1 Thu Oct 11, 2007 10:41am

All I'm saying is that once the ball touches the court, it doesn't matter where it was last touched by a person. If it touches the court, then that's the ball's location. "A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court."

Once it bounces, it has been in contact with the court. That means its location is the same location as when it was last in contact with the court. And that means that its location is NOT the last throw-in spot.

kbilla Thu Oct 11, 2007 10:51am

the throw in never ended though! how can you have a different spot if the throw in never ended?

kbilla Thu Oct 11, 2007 10:56am

think about a long pass from one end line that never touches anyone, but bounces along the floor and then out of bounds at the opposite end line. would you put it in play from the opposite end line or bring it back to the original throw-in spot?

bob jenkins Thu Oct 11, 2007 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kbilla
think about a long pass from one end line that never touches anyone, but bounces along the floor and then out of bounds at the opposite end line. would you put it in play from the opposite end line or bring it back to the original throw-in spot?

That's a throw-in violation, and the throw-in spot is the spot of the original throw-in. Has nothing to do with this play, however.

bob jenkins Thu Oct 11, 2007 11:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1
All I'm saying is that once the ball touches the court, it doesn't matter where it was last touched by a person. If it touches the court, then that's the ball's location. "A ball which is in flight retains the same location as when it was last in contact with a player or the court."

Once it bounces, it has been in contact with the court. That means its location is the same location as when it was last in contact with the court. And that means that its location is NOT the last throw-in spot.

Yes, the ball location is the spot it last touched the court. But the POI doesn't say "resume at the ball location" for this type of POI.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1