![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
I agree with Tony about the wording, but until the FED changes it, we have to follow what they've written. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
I thought that the clock can't start until "the ball is legally touched inbounds". A kicked ball is not a legal touch therefore no time should come off the clock right?
It would be the same as a player stealing the tap at the start of the game. if time comes off the clock you put 8:00 back on the clock before the inbounding of the ball? |
|
|||
Quote:
Rule in this case does not say legally touched, only "ball touches or is touched by a player on the court." But why does starting the clock as per this rule take precedence over 5-8-1 which says stop clock on violation? No one has answered this question as far as I know.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
1) The official is supposed to start the clock on a throw-in as per rule 5-9-4 as soon as the ball touches or is touched by a player on the court. There is no provision anywhere in the rules to NOT start the clock. 2) If a player on the court now commits a violation, the official is supposed to stop the clock for that violation as per rule 5-8-1(c). You simply follow the RULES in order. Whether the touch and the kicking violation are simultaneous or not has got no bearing on anything. You start the clock. You stop the clock. |
|
|||
Quote:
So you're telling me you start the clock even though the ball became dead on the touch/kick in this case.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum. It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow. Lonesome Dove |
|
|||
Quote:
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
How about this…
I understand JR’s response that by rule the clock must start when touched during the throw-in, legally or not. However, the clock also must stop on a violation such as a kick. Now, as per the OP, these two acts happen at exactly the same time. Soooo, when considering the space-time-continuum, that would equal a total amount of elapsed time of 0.0 seconds. If this is the case, then we would have exact knowledge of the time elapsed (which would be 0 time) and would conclude that the clock should indicate that no time should have come off. When looked at it from this approach we would still satisfy the rule that the clock must start when the ball is touch on the throw-in and that it would be stopped on the violation. These acts just happen to occur at the exact same time. Alright, let me have it…. ![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott "You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Kick Ball? | hbioteach | Basketball | 15 | Mon Dec 04, 2006 10:56pm |
Holding ball between legs... kick ball? | bradfordwilkins | Basketball | 1 | Fri Feb 11, 2005 06:23pm |
Kick Ball on AP Throw-in | rpirtle | Basketball | 71 | Sat Jan 10, 2004 02:21am |
kick ball question? | VPKII | Basketball | 12 | Sat Mar 22, 2003 10:57am |
Why some call Kick Ball and others don't!!! | MREUROREF | Basketball | 16 | Sat Jan 06, 2001 09:10pm |