Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
1) The official is supposed to start the clock on a throw-in as per rule 5-9-4 as soon as the ball touches or is touched by a player on the court. There is no provision anywhere in the rules to NOT start the clock.
2) If a player on the court now commits a violation, the official is supposed to stop the clock for that violation as per rule 5-8-1(c).
You simply follow the RULES in order. Whether the touch and the kicking violation are simultaneous or not has got no bearing on anything. You start the clock. You stop the clock.
|
6-7-9 states: The ball becomes dead, or remains dead, when: a violation occurs.
So you're telling me you start the clock even though the ball became dead on the touch/kick in this case.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.
Lonesome Dove
|