View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 05, 2007, 03:36pm
just another ref just another ref is offline
We don't rent pigs
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 7,627
Quote:
Originally Posted by btaylor64
I thought that the clock can't start until "the ball is legally touched inbounds". A kicked ball is not a legal touch therefore no time should come off the clock right?

Rule in this case does not say legally touched, only "ball touches or is touched by a player on the court."

But why does starting the clock as per this rule take precedence over 5-8-1 which says stop clock on violation? No one has answered this question as far as I know.
__________________
I swear, Gus, you'd argue with a possum.
It'd be easier than arguing with you, Woodrow.


Lonesome Dove
Reply With Quote