The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2007, 07:52pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmp44
Team A is shooting a one-and-one FT. AP Arrow belongs to A. First shot hits the back of the rim and bounces high. A1 and B1 both tap the ball simultaneously trying to knock the ball into the backcourt for their team. Ball bounces once close to the division line. After the bounce, A2 jumps from the backcourt, catches the ball, and lands in the frontcourt.

2) The clinician on the game was of the opinion that Team A should have received the ball not because of the AP, but because team control started the moment A2 caught the ball, followed by the inadvertant whistle -- POI gives the ball to A. Thoughts?
The clinician was right. A2 established player and team control when he caught the ball, as per NFHS rule 4-12-1&2. A2 had backcourt status when he caught the ball as per NFHS rule 4-35-3. There is no backcourt violation as per NFHS case book play 4.12.2. An inadvertent whistle is now covered under NFHS rule 4-36-1. Team A gets the ball as per NFHS rule 4-36-2(a).

Simple call.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Wed Jul 25, 2007 at 07:57pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2007, 08:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,024
JR, What do you have in the above scenario if A2 jumps from his frontcourt, catches the ball while airborne, and then lands in his backcourt?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2007, 09:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 850
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
JR, What do you have in the above scenario if A2 jumps from his frontcourt, catches the ball while airborne, and then lands in his backcourt?
We have covered (or tried to cover) this type of play. 9-9-3 described the back court exceptions. Throw-in, Jump ball and DEFENSIVE intercepting ball.
Ball is live. Ball has front court status and team control has not been established. Now, A2 is not a defensive player. Correct? So when A2 jumps from front court secures control of the ball he/she has front court status and has established team control. A2 violates as soon as the 1st foot touches the back court.
I thought the rules makers were going to rewrite the rules to make this play and a similar throw-in play a legal play.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 25, 2007, 10:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,024
I thought that I asked for JR's opinion.

You piss off!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 01:01am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
I thought that I asked for JR's opinion.

You piss off!
Did you really think that I'd say something different than Zooch?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 02:21am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Did you really think that I'd say something different than Zooch?
If you thought that it might irritate me, absolutely!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 05:28am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
If you thought that it might irritate me, absolutely!
Well, there's that.....
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 06:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy
We have covered (or tried to cover) this type of play. 9-9-3 described the back court exceptions. Throw-in, Jump ball and DEFENSIVE intercepting ball.
Ball is live. Ball has front court status and team control has not been established. Now, A2 is not a defensive player. Correct? So when A2 jumps from front court secures control of the ball he/she has front court status and has established team control. A2 violates as soon as the 1st foot touches the back court.
I thought the rules makers were going to rewrite the rules to make this play and a similar throw-in play a legal play.
That'd be a good idea, why penalize A2 for his hustle?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 06:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,024
Coach P,
Hit the link in post #4.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 07:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 656
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
Coach P,
Hit the link in post #4.
I did. It made my head spin.

I got a BC violation BTW.

Ball had FC status
A1 caught the ball (Team control)
A1 therefore was last to touch before ball goes into BC
A1 first to touch after ball goes into BC

Not a throw-in, jump ball, or defensive steal.

Doesn't seem fair to me though, because the same thing is allowed on a throw in. A2 is allowed to land normally.

So, what if A2 was standing OOB, jumped in the air, caught the ball, then landed in bounds?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 08:36am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
The question is whether the parenthetical statements are meant to be all inclusive. If they are, then the situation is a BC violation. If they are meant as examples only to show what constitutes "the team not in control," then it's not a BC violation. Personally, I lean towards letting this go.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP
I got a BC violation BTW.

Ball had FC status
A1 caught the ball (Team control)
A1 therefore was last to touch before ball goes into BC
A1 first to touch after ball goes into BC

Not a throw-in, jump ball, or defensive steal.
Are you refering to the OP? I don't think the ball had frontcourt status in that situation before A1 caught the ball. There was no team control before he caught it so there couldn't be a frontcourt or back court. Right?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inadvertent Whistle & Lane Violation Question South GA BBall Ref Basketball 2 Wed Jan 24, 2007 11:19pm
Delaying the whistle question johnnyrao Basketball 15 Sat Feb 04, 2006 09:44pm
Inadvertant Whistle Question rockyroad Football 3 Mon Oct 17, 2005 11:25am
3-Whistle Mechanics Question RookieDude Basketball 9 Sun Jan 23, 2005 12:56pm
3 Whistle Question RookieDude Basketball 3 Sun Nov 28, 2004 05:31pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1