The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2004, 01:04pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,856
Question

341. i. 2003-2005 NFHS Basketball Officials Manual

"The Trail official shall notify the coach and then the player on a disqualification and will administer substitutions."

Is this the proper procedure to use at all times when doing 3-Whistle?

What if the calling official is also the Trail official?
__________________
Dan Ivey
Tri-City Sports Officials Asso. (TCSOA)
Member since 1989
Richland, WA
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2004, 04:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Tidewater Virginia
Posts: 252
This agrees with case book 2.8.4, but notice the ruling says it is RECOMMENDED the calling official informs the coach. My board recommends the new cross-court official do the notification if there is any possibility of hostility from the coach.
__________________
Failure is fertile ground on which to plant new seeds.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2004, 04:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,094
Quote:
Originally posted by RookieDude
341. i. 2003-2005 NFHS Basketball Officials Manual

"The Trail official shall notify the coach and then the player on a disqualification and will administer substitutions."

Is this the proper procedure to use at all times when doing 3-Whistle?

What if the calling official is also the Trail official?
"At ALL times?" No, that's not the proper procedure.

It is proper most of the time, however. If there's a problem that you think will be exacerbated by you notifying the coach, then go across from the table.

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2004, 05:31pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,904
I think it needs to be noted that with the change of table side mechanics, that we should for the most part be able to tell the coach ourselves if we call the foul. I really do not see why all game long we now go opposite the table on a DQ'd foul. I think this will be addressed in the next book more thoroughly. At least I hope it is.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1