The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 01:29am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by oc
NFHS 4-3-3

"The ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower..." Which thrower:
A. The free thrower
B. The thrower in (from the sideline)
It can only be the "thrower" for "throw-ins". See NFHS 4-42-1for terminology.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 01:53am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,019
The NFHS books use "thrower" to mean either a free thrower or a player making a throw-in and you have to know from context which is appropriate.

By "thrower" in 4-3-3 the NFHS means the player making the throw-in. The initial setting of the arrow when a "free thrower" is involved is handed the ball is covered by 4-3-2.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 05:18am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
The NFHS books use "thrower" to mean either a free thrower or a player making a throw-in and you have to know from context which is appropriate.
You're completely wrong. NFHS rule 4-42-1 specifically defines a "thrower", and there's absolutely no mention of a "free thrower" in that definition. A "thrower" and a "free thrower" are completely different animals, and are defined as such in the NFHS rule book.

RULE 4-42-1: The THROWER is the player who attempts a THROW-IN.


Also see NFHS rules 6-1-2(b) and 6-1-2(c). Those rules differentiate between a "thrower" and a "free thrower" also.

Rule 6-1-2b: The ball becomes live when on a THROW-IN, it is at the disposal of the THROWER.

Rule 6-1-2c: The ball becomes live when on a FREE THROW, it is at the disposal of the FREE THROWER.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Tue Jun 05, 2007 at 05:45am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 07:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref
The NFHS books use "thrower" to mean either a free thrower or a player making a throw-in and you have to know from context which is appropriate.
Nope.

See above.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 06:54pm
oc oc is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
It can only be the "thrower" for "throw-ins". See NFHS 4-42-1for terminology.
Thank you.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting Initial Possession Arrow? vawils Basketball 9 Tue Nov 07, 2006 11:44am
Setting ball down bellnier Basketball 27 Thu Aug 17, 2006 04:55pm
Setting the Arrow bjb3 Basketball 4 Sun Nov 06, 2005 10:07pm
Setting AP Arrow Question Jeff the Ref Basketball 9 Thu Nov 11, 2004 08:57am
setting the arrow joec Basketball 4 Thu Nov 30, 2000 12:15pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1