The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 11:50am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeTheRef
That's funny. If the coach throws in the towel, then what do you have??
I might have a technical (KO).
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 12:33pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Aw geeze, I'm serious, guys, believe it or not.

Opinions-----can a defender maintain LGP and a closely-guarded count continue while the defender is laying face down on the court?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 12:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Aw geeze, I'm serious, guys, believe it or not.

Opinions-----can a defender maintain LGP and a closely-guarded count continue while the defender is laying face down on the court?
Under ncaa, no. Defender cannot maintain guarding position lying on the floor. This has been discussed here many times.

I'm sure someone will copy/paste half the fed rulebook to show why he thinks I'm wrong but I'm stopping my count in a fed game on this as well, unless there's another defender in the vacinity to take his place.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 12:49pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
I'm sure someone will copy/paste half the fed rulebook to show why he thinks I'm wrong but I'm stopping my count in a fed game on this as well, unless there's another defender in the vicinity to take his place.
I'll only copy this, and only as an aid to further discussion....

NFHS rule 4-23-3(a)--"After the initial legal guarding position is obtained, the guard may have one or both feet on the playing court or be airborne, provided he/she has inbound status."

Fwiw, I agree with you btw. Other esteemed members don't.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 1,342
[QUOTE=Jurassic Referee]I'll only copy this, and only as an aid to further discussion....

NFHS rule 4-23-3(a)--"After the initial legal guarding position is obtained, the guard may have one or both feet on the playing court or be airborne, provided he/she has inbound status."

Technically, both feet are still on the playing court. Just technically
__________________
truerookie
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 04, 2007, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
I'll only copy this, and only as an aid to further discussion....

NFHS rule 4-23-3(a)--"After the initial legal guarding position is obtained, the guard may have one or both feet on the playing court or be airborne, provided he/she has inbound status."

Fwiw, I agree with you btw. Other esteemed members don't.
JR has mentioned it several times -- are 1 or both feet on the ground?

where is the expectation of defense with a player on the ground?
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 04, 2007, 10:41am
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by deecee
JR has mentioned it several times -- are 1 or both feet on the ground?

where is the expectation of defense with a player on the ground?
a player on the floor is quite likely to have one or both feet touching the floor. Frankly, I think a case can be made by rule to have a count continue.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 04, 2007, 10:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
a player on the floor is quite likely to have one or both feet touching the floor. Frankly, I think a case can be made by rule to have a count continue.
very nimble player with very flexible ankles.
__________________
in OS I trust
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 12:51pm
Esteemed Participant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 4,775
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_ref
Under ncaa, no. Defender cannot maintain guarding position lying on the floor. This has been discussed here many times.

I'm sure someone will copy/paste half the fed rulebook to show why he thinks I'm wrong but I'm stopping my count in a fed game on this as well, unless there's another defender in the vacinity to take his place.
Agreed...nowhere in the discussion of maintaining LGP does it talk about a player lying on the floor.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 12:53pm
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,694
The dribbler's just gonna stand there for 5 seconds while his defender is on the floor? I don't think you're ever going to have to worry about this.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 01:06pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapper1
The dribbler's just gonna stand there for 5 seconds while his defender is on the floor? I don't think you're ever going to have to worry about this.
He doesn't have to stand there for 5 seconds. You could be at 4 on your count when the defender falls, just about to strike 5. Or, B1 could fall down just before B2 steps in to guard A1.
__________________
Sprinkles are for winners.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 01:08pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
He doesn't have to stand there for 5 seconds. You could be at 4 on your count when the defender falls, just about to strike 5. Or, B1 could fall down just before B2 steps in to guard A1.
And your call is, Snaqs?

LGP or not?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 01:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 477
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
He doesn't have to stand there for 5 seconds. You could be at 4 on your count when the defender falls, just about to strike 5. Or, B1 could fall down just before B2 steps in to guard A1.
I won't make the 5 second call unless there's another defender within the 6 feet requirement.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Tue May 01, 2007, 05:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Deer Park, TX
Posts: 502
Talking

I would like to think if B1 is lying face down, that A1 could have his head and shoulders past B1 and thus end the count as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Legal Guarding Position johnsatchmo Basketball 3 Tue Jan 18, 2005 08:32am
LEGAL GUARDING POSITION shont Basketball 17 Tue Dec 21, 2004 09:53pm
legal guarding position Dbyb Basketball 37 Fri Mar 26, 2004 01:50pm
Legal Guarding Position flsh224 Basketball 69 Sat Oct 25, 2003 08:52am
OOB/Legal Guarding Position SOWB_Ref Basketball 4 Wed Mar 05, 2003 10:31am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1