![]() |
Legal Guarding Position
From another forum.....
Defensive player B1 has established a legal guarding position on dribbler A1, and you have started a 5-second closely guarded count. The defender now slips and falls to the floor, face-down, in front of the dribbler. Do you continue your closely-guarded count while B1 is laying face down on the court? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Where is that sneaker selling guy? |
nikepopularshoes
you buy good shoe.
i ship tomorrow. you call 86-594-2759811 i sell you shoe |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
And no foget.. no leeefund!!! |
Quote:
|
Aw geeze, I'm serious, guys, believe it or not.
Opinions-----can a defender maintain LGP and a closely-guarded count continue while the defender is laying face down on the court? |
Quote:
I'm sure someone will copy/paste half the fed rulebook to show why he thinks I'm wrong but I'm stopping my count in a fed game on this as well, unless there's another defender in the vacinity to take his place. |
Quote:
NFHS rule 4-23-3(a)--"After the initial legal guarding position is obtained, the guard may have one or both feet on the playing court or be airborne, provided he/she has inbound status." Fwiw, I agree with you btw. Other esteemed members don't. |
Quote:
|
The dribbler's just gonna stand there for 5 seconds while his defender is on the floor? I don't think you're ever going to have to worry about this.
|
[QUOTE=Jurassic Referee]I'll only copy this, and only as an aid to further discussion....
NFHS rule 4-23-3(a)--"After the initial legal guarding position is obtained, the guard may have one or both feet on the playing court or be airborne, provided he/she has inbound status." Technically, both feet are still on the playing court. :D Just technically;) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12pm. |